Sampdoria – Parma: No mercy for The Crusaders as The Blue-circled take the points

Parma suffer a loss during their final game of the season against Sampdoria
Sampdoria vs. Parma
Adriano Saul

Adriano Saul

Reporting from beautiful, colorful city of Genoa, Adriano goes to the great lengths to make sure that no football fan remains uninformed about everything that happens in the best league of Italy.

Parma succumbed to an away defeat to Sampdoria at the Stadio Luigi Ferraris on Saturday. Sampdoria were looking to pick up points, following a 1-0 victory against Udinese whilst Parma were beaten 3-1 in the previous match against Sassuolo. This left, Sampdoria and Parma are 9th (52 points) and 20th (20 points) in the table respectively, after a total of 38 matches.

Sampdoria started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, with Fabio Quagliarella opening the rout, 20 minutes in. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from Omar Colley just before half-time, finalising the first half 2-0.

The Blue-circled continued to pile on the pressure in the second and were rewarded, with Manolo Gabbiadini finding the net in the 64th minute, leaving the final score at 3-0.

For Sampdoria, Valerio Verre, Adrien Silva, Vasco Regini, Kristoffer Askildsen and Ernesto Torregrossa, came on for Manolo Gabbiadini, Albin Ekdal, Alex Ferrari, Antonio Candreva and Fabio Quagliarella. Parma brought on Vasilios Zagaritis, Graziano Pelle, Simon Sohm, Botond Balogh and Chaka Traore, to replace Lautaro Valenti, Gervinho, Gaston Brugman, Vincent Laurini and Maxime Busi.

There were bookings for Mehdi Leris from Sampdoria, and Mattia Bani, for Parma.

Technical card:
Sampdoria: Luigi Sepe, Lautaro Valenti, Daan Dierckx, Mattia Bani, Vincent Laurini, Hernani, Gaston Brugman, Mark Kosznovszky, Maxime Busi, Gervinho and Andreas Cornelius
Parma: Karlo Letica, Alex Ferrari, Omar Colley, Maya Yoshida, Tommaso Augello, Antonio Candreva, Jakub Jankto, Albin Ekdal, Mehdi Leris, Manolo Gabbiadini and Fabio Quagliarella
Stadium: the Stadio Luigi Ferraris
Goals: Fabio Quagliarella (1-0, min. 20), Omar Colley (2-0, min. 44) and Manolo Gabbiadini (3-0, min. 64)

More From 888post