Sampdoria 0 – Napoli 4: the Stadio Luigi Ferraris stunned as visitors seal victory

Sampdoria vs. Napoli

Photo Credit: AP

Napoli enjoyed a mesmerising away victory against Sampdoria at the Stadio Luigi Ferraris on Thursday. Both teams arrived on the back of wins. Sampdoria were keen to hang onto their position at the top of league and extend their winning run, following a 3-0 victory against Empoli while Napoli were hoping to increase their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Udinese and Juventus. After today’s result, Sampdoria and Napoli currently occupy 13th and 1st spots in the league, with 5 points and 15 points respectively after 5 matches.

Gli Azzurri started the first half well, with Victor Osimhen opening the rout at the 10 minute mark. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from Fabian Ruiz in the 39th minute. The score at half time was 0-2.

Napoli started the second half with renewed vigour, with an early 2nd effort from Victor Osimhen in the 50th minute. However they weren’t finished yet and Piotr Zielinski made it 4-0 at the 59 minute mark with a final score of 4-0.

For Sampdoria, Ernesto Torregrossa, Albin Ekdal, Fabio Depaoli, Kristoffer Askildsen and Riccardo Ciervo, came on for Fabio Quagliarella, Adrien Silva, Bartosz Bereszynski, Morten Thorsby and Francesco Caputo. Napoli brought on Kostas Manolas, Matteo Politano, Eljif Elmas, Andrea Petagna and Adam Ounas, to replace Amir Rrahmani, Lorenzo Insigne, Piotr Zielinski, Victor Osimhen and Hirving Lozano.

There were bookings for Mikkel Damsgaard and Fabio Depaoli from Sampdoria. For Napoli, Kostas Manolas saw yellow.

Sampdoria will next travel to Juventus, while Napoli will face Cagliari at home.

Technical card:
Sampdoria: Emil Audero, Bartosz Bereszynski (Fabio Depaoli, min.71), Omar Colley, Maya Yoshida, Tommaso Augello, Antonio Candreva, Adrien Silva (Albin Ekdal, min.55), Morten Thorsby (Kristoffer Askildsen, min.71), Mikkel Damsgaard, Francesco Caputo (Riccardo Ciervo, min.84) and Fabio Quagliarella (Ernesto Torregrossa, min.55)
Napoli: David Ospina, Giovanni Di Lorenzo, Amir Rrahmani (Kostas Manolas, min.48), Kalidou Koulibaly, Mario Rui, Hirving Lozano (Adam Ounas, min.81), Piotr Zielinski (Eljif Elmas, min.68), Fabian Ruiz, Andre Zambo Anguissa, Lorenzo Insigne (Matteo Politano, min.68) and Victor Osimhen (Andrea Petagna, min.81)
Stadium: the Stadio Luigi Ferraris
Goals: Victor Osimhen (0-1, min. 10), Fabian Ruiz (0-2, min. 39), Victor Osimhen (0-3, min. 50) and Piotr Zielinski (0-4, min. 59)