Salernitana 2 – Verona 2: Victory elusive at Stadio Arechi for both sides

Salernitana vs. Hellas Verona

Photo Credit: AP

On Wednesday, Salernitana and Verona were held to a 2-2 draw at Stadio Arechi. Salernitana were looking forward to meeting again, following a previous defeat to Atalanta. Verona were looking to extend their winning run after a 3-2 victory against Roma. As the table looks today, Salernitana are currently 20th with 1 point from 5 matches, while Verona sit in 14th, with 4 points from 5.

Verona scored first, with Nikola Kalinic giving Verona the lead after only 7 minutes. The Yellow and Blues looked to have the game under control when they scored again and incerased their lead, thanks to a 2nd effort from Nikola Kalinic at the 29 minute mark to establish a 2-0. Salernitana in turn, then responded just before half-time increasing their lead with an effort from Cedric Gondo, which saw the first half end 1-2.

granate took the lead in the second half, thanks to a goal from Mamadou Coulibaly, 76 minutes in. The game ended wih a 2-2 draw.

For Salernitana, Milan Djuric, Federico Bonazzoli, Grigoris Kastanos, Francesco Di Tacchio and Nadir Zortea, came on for Simy, Cedric Gondo, Franck Ribery, Luca Ranieri and Lassana Coulibaly. Verona brought on Nicolo Casale, Adrien Tameze, Giovanni Simeone, Daniel Bessa and Mert Cetin, to replace Giangiacomo Magnani, Ivan Ilic, Nikola Kalinic, Gianluca Caprari and Darko Lazovic.

There were bookings for Riccardo Gagliolo and Lassana Coulibaly from Salernitana, and Nikola Kalinic, Giangiacomo Magnani and Pawel Dawidowicz, for Verona.

Next up, Salernitana are away to Sassuolo, whilst Verona will travel to face Genoa.

Technical card:
Salernitana: Vid Belec, Norbert Gyomber, Stefan Strandberg, Riccardo Gagliolo, Wajdi Kechrida, Mamadou Coulibaly, Lassana Coulibaly (Nadir Zortea, min.89), Luca Ranieri (Francesco Di Tacchio, min.89), Simy (Milan Djuric, min.58), Cedric Gondo (Federico Bonazzoli, min.74) and Franck Ribery (Grigoris Kastanos, min.88)
Hellas Verona: Lorenzo Montipo, Pawel Dawidowicz, Giangiacomo Magnani (Nicolo Casale, min.46), Koray Gunter, Davide Faraoni, Ivan Ilic (Adrien Tameze, min.46), Martin Hongla, Darko Lazovic (Mert Cetin, min.90), Gianluca Caprari (Daniel Bessa, min.66), Antonin Barak and Nikola Kalinic (Giovanni Simeone, min.56)
Stadium: Stadio Arechi
Goals: Nikola Kalinic (0-1, min. 7), Nikola Kalinic (0-2, min. 29), Cedric Gondo (1-2, min. 45) and Mamadou Coulibaly (2-2, min. 76)