Roma 2 – Empoli 0: Points secure for Giallorossi at the Stadio Olympico

Photo Credit: AP

On Sunday, Empoli suffer an away defeat to Roma at the Stadio Olympico. Roma arrived at the game looking pick up points after losing their last game 3-2 to Lazio while Empoli were hoping to increase their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Bologna and Cagliari. As it stands, Roma and Empoli sit 4th, (15 points) and 10th, (9 points), in the league respectively, after 7 matches.

Roma started the first half well, thanks to Lorenzo Pellegrini giving Giallorossi the lead just before half-time

Roma started the second half with renewed vigour, with an early goal from Henrikh Mkhitaryan in the 48th minute, leaving the final score at 2-0.

For Roma, Bryan Cristante, Riccardo Calafiori, Stephan El Shaarawy, Roger Ibanez and Nicola Zalewski, came on for Ebrima Darboe, Matias Vina, Nicolo Zaniolo, Chris Smalling and Henrikh Mkhitaryan. Empoli brought on Leonardo Mancuso, Nicolas Haas, Nedim Bajrami, Leo Stulac and Patrick Cutrone, to replace Andrea Pinamonti, Filippo Bandinelli, Szymon Zurkowski, Liam Henderson and Federico Di Francesco.

There were bookings for Gianluca Mancini and Nicolo Zaniolo from Roma. For Empoli, Samuele Ricci, Nicolas Haas and Petar Stojanovic saw yellow.

Roma will play their next fixture away against Juventus, while Empoli will face Atalanta at home.

Technical card:
Roma: Rui Patricio, Rick Karsdorp, Chris Smalling (Roger Ibanez, min.90), Gianluca Mancini, Matias Vina (Riccardo Calafiori, min.84), Nicolo Zaniolo (Stephan El Shaarawy, min.84), Lorenzo Pellegrini, Jordan Veretout, Ebrima Darboe (Bryan Cristante, min.64), Henrikh Mkhitaryan (Nicola Zalewski, min.90) and Tammy Abraham
Empoli: Guglielmo Vicario, Petar Stojanovic, Mattia Viti, Simone Romagnoli, Riccardo Marchizza, Liam Henderson (Leo Stulac, min.70), Samuele Ricci, Filippo Bandinelli (Nicolas Haas, min.46), Szymon Zurkowski (Nedim Bajrami, min.46), Andrea Pinamonti (Leonardo Mancuso, min.30) and Federico Di Francesco (Patrick Cutrone, min.70)
Stadium: the Stadio Olympico
Goals: Lorenzo Pellegrini (1-0, min. 42) and Henrikh Mkhitaryan (2-0, min. 48)