Napoli 2 – Juve 1: Gli Azzurri see off visitors at Stadio Diego Armando Maradona

Napoli vs. Juventus

Photo Credit: AP

Napoli beat Juventus with a thumping 2-1 victory on Saturday at Stadio Diego Armando Maradona. Napoli were looking to pick up points after winning their previous two games in the competition. The most recent was against the Genoa away (2-1), the other to Venezia at home (2-0). Juve had lost their previous match against Empoli. As things stand, Napoli are in 5th place, with 6 points from 3 matches, while Juve sit in 13th, with 1 point from 3.

Juve found the net first, thanks to Alvaro Morata giving The Old Lady the lead at the 10 minute mark. The score at half time was 0-1.

Napoli continued to pile on the pressure in the second and were rewarded, with a goal from Matteo Politano, 57 minutes in. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from Kalidou Koulibaly just before the final whistle to make it 2-1.

For Napoli, Adam Ounas, Hirving Lozano, Piotr Zielinski, Andrea Petagna and Kevin Malcuit, came on for Eljif Elmas, Matteo Politano, Lorenzo Insigne, Victor Osimhen and Mario Rui. Juve brought on Matthijs De Ligt, Aaron Ramsey and Moise Kean, to replace Luca Pellegrini, Weston McKennie and Alvaro Morata.

There were bookings for Eljif Elmas and Hirving Lozano from Napoli. For Juve, Manuel Locatelli saw yellow.

Napoli will next travel to Udinese, while Juve will face AC Milan at home.

Technical card:
Napoli: David Ospina, Giovanni Di Lorenzo, Kalidou Koulibaly, Kostas Manolas, Mario Rui (Kevin Malcuit, min.90), Andre Zambo Anguissa, Eljif Elmas (Adam Ounas, min.46), Fabian Ruiz, Victor Osimhen (Andrea Petagna, min.90), Matteo Politano (Hirving Lozano, min.72) and Lorenzo Insigne (Piotr Zielinski, min.73)
Juventus: Wojciech Szczesny, Mattia De Sciglio, Giorgio Chiellini, Leonardo Bonucci, Luca Pellegrini (Matthijs De Ligt, min.57), Manuel Locatelli, Adrien Rabiot, Weston McKennie (Aaron Ramsey, min.72), Federico Bernardeschi, Dejan Kulusevski and Alvaro Morata (Moise Kean, min.82)
Stadium: Stadio Diego Armando Maradona
Goals: Alvaro Morata (0-1, min. 10), Matteo Politano (1-1, min. 57) and Kalidou Koulibaly (2-1, min. 85)
*The credit for all of photos in this article belongs to AP*