Napoli 2 – Cagliari 0: Visitors leave Stadio Diego Armando Maradona empty handed

Photo Credit: AP

Napoli strolled past Cagliari with a 2-0 win on Sunday at Stadio Diego Armando Maradona. Napoli were looking to pick up points after winning their previous two matches in the league. The most recent was against the Sampdoria away (4-0), the other to Udinese away (4-0) while Cagliari were beaten 2-0 in the previous match against Empoli. As it stands, Napoli and Cagliari are 1st, (18 points) and 19th, (2 points), spots respectively, after 6 matches.

Napoli started the game well, thanks to Victor Osimhen giving Napoli the lead in the 11th minute. The score at half time was 1-0.

Gli Azzurri continued to pile on the pressure in the second and were rewarded, with a goal from Lorenzo Insigne in the 57th minute. When the final wisthle blew, the result was 2-0 to Napoli.

For Napoli, Hirving Lozano, Eljif Elmas, Andrea Petagna, Adam Ounas and Diego Demme, came on for Matteo Politano, Piotr Zielinski, Victor Osimhen, Lorenzo Insigne and Fabian Ruiz. Cagliari brought on Luca Ceppitelli, Keita Balde, Gaston Pereiro and Alberto Grassi, to replace Sebastian Walukiewicz, Alessandro Deiola, Babis Lykogiannis and Kevin Strootman.

There were bookings for Victor Osimhen and Eljif Elmas from Napoli. For Cagliari, Sebastian Walukiewicz saw yellow.

Napoli will next travel to Fiorentina, while Cagliari will face Venezia at home.

Technical card:
Napoli: David Ospina, Giovanni Di Lorenzo, Kalidou Koulibaly, Amir Rrahmani, Mario Rui, Andre Zambo Anguissa, Piotr Zielinski (Eljif Elmas, min.69), Fabian Ruiz (Diego Demme, min.88), Lorenzo Insigne (Adam Ounas, min.77), Victor Osimhen (Andrea Petagna, min.77) and Matteo Politano (Hirving Lozano, min.69)
Cagliari: Alessio Cragno, Sebastian Walukiewicz (Luca Ceppitelli, min.68), Diego Godin, Babis Lykogiannis (Gaston Pereiro, min.85), Martin Caceres, Razvan Marin, Alessandro Deiola (Keita Balde, min.69), Nahitan Nandez, Gabriele Zappa, Kevin Strootman (Alberto Grassi, min.85) and Joao Pedro
Stadium: Stadio Diego Armando Maradona
Goals: Victor Osimhen (1-0, min. 11) and Lorenzo Insigne (2-0, min. 57)