Verona 2 – Sassuolo 3: Home defeat for The Yellow and Blues as Neroverdi take points

Hellas Verona vs. Sassuolo

Hellas Verona suffer a first loss against Sassuolo in their first match of the new Serie A campaign. Today’s result, Verona and Sassuolo currently occupy 19th and 2nd spots in the table, with 0 points and 3 points respectively after 1 match.

Sassuolo started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, thanks to a goal from Giacomo Raspadori at the 32 minute mark, seeing out the first half 0-1.

Sassuolo fought back, with Filip Djuricic finding the net, at 51 minutes. However, Verona weren’t lying down and managed to pull back a goal from Mattia Zaccagni, at 71 minutes. However, Neroverdi increased their advantage following a Hamed Junior Traoré goal at the 77 minute mark to make it 3-1. The Yellow and Blues in turn, then responded just before the final whistle increasing their lead with a second effort from Mattia Zaccagni so at full time it was 3-2 to Sassuolo.

For Verona, Matteo Cancellieri, Adrien Tameze, Samuel Di Carmine, Ivan Ilic and Giangiacomo Magnani, came on for Nikola Kalinic, Martin Hongla, Federico Ceccherini, Antonin Barak and Nicolo Casale. Sassuolo brought on Hamed Junior Traoré, Francesco Magnanelli, Gregoire Defrel, Gianluca Scamacca and Kaan Ayhan, to replace Giacomo Raspadori, Davide Frattesi, Filip Djuricic, Francesco Caputo and Vlad Chiriches.

The referee booked Miguel Veloso and Samuel Di Carmine from Verona and Miguel Veloso (2 yellow cards) went off with a red card, while Sassuolo’s Maxime Lopez and Filip Djuricic also received a yellow.

In the second round of action in the Serie A, both Sassuolo and Verona will play at home against Sampdoria and Internazionale respectively.

Technical card:
Hellas Verona: Andrea Consigli, Jeremy Toljan, Vlad Chiriches, Gian Marco Ferrari, Rogerio, Filip Djuricic, Maxime Lopez, Davide Frattesi, Giacomo Raspadori, Jeremie Boga and Francesco Caputo
Sassuolo: Ivor Pandur, Pawel Dawidowicz, Federico Ceccherini, Koray Gunter, Nicolo Casale, Martin Hongla, Miguel Veloso, Darko Lazovic, Mattia Zaccagni, Antonin Barak and Nikola Kalinic
Stadium: the Stadio Marcantonio Bentegodi
Goals: Giacomo Raspadori (0-1, min. 32), Filip Djuricic (0-2, min. 51), Mattia Zaccagni (1-2, min. 71), Hamed Junior Traoré (1-3, min. 77) and Mattia Zaccagni (2-3, min. 90)