Hellas Verona – Bologna: Victory beyond reach for Verona, as they only manage a 2-2 draw with Bologna

Disappointment on both sides as Verona and Bologna see out a 2-2 draw
Hellas Verona vs. Bologna
Adriano Saul

Adriano Saul

Reporting from beautiful, colorful city of Genoa, Adriano goes to the great lengths to make sure that no football fan remains uninformed about everything that happens in the best league of Italy.

On Monday, Verona and Bologna were held to a 2-2 draw at the Stadio Marcantonio Bentegodi. Both Verona and Bologna arrived at the match from previous defeats in the league. Verona were looking to get back winning ways, following a previous defeat to Crotone. Bologna were beaten 2-0 in the previous match against Genoa. As things stand, Verona and Bologna are 10th, (44 points) and 11th, (41 points), in the table respectively, after 37 matches.

The Yellow and Blues started the game well, with an early goal from Davide Faraoni in the 2nd minute. However, their lead was short lived, as Lorenzo De Silvestri equalised for The Greyhounds at the 32 minute mark to see out the first half 1-1.

Verona started strong in the second half and were able to dominate, thanks to a goal from Nikola Kalinic at the 53 minute mark. In the end though, their celebrations were kept brief, as Rodrigo Palacio equalised for Bologna at the 82 minute mark. The final result, Verona 2, Bologna 2.

For Verona, Miguel Veloso, Pawel Dawidowicz, Kevin Lasagna, Adrien Tameze and Eddie Salcedo, came on for Antonin Barak, Koray Gunter, Nikola Kalinic, Daniel Bessa and Mattia Zaccagni. Bologna brought on Musa Barrow, Riccardo Orsolini, Musa Juwara, Antonio Raimondo and Andrea Poli, to replace Nicola Sansone, Mitchell Dijks, Emanuel Vignato, Rodrigo Palacio and Jerdy Schouten.

There were bookings for Koray Gunter, Antonin Barak and Nikola Kalinic from Verona. For Bologna, Mitchell Dijks, Jerdy Schouten and Roberto Soriano saw yellow.

Verona will next travel to Napoli, while Bologna will face Juventus at home.

Technical card:
Hellas Verona: Ivor Pandur, Federico Ceccherini, Koray Gunter (Pawel Dawidowicz, min.74), Federico Dimarco, Davide Faraoni, Ivan Ilic, Daniel Bessa (Adrien Tameze, min.86), Darko Lazovic, Nikola Kalinic (Kevin Lasagna, min.75), Mattia Zaccagni (Eddie Salcedo, min.86) and Antonin Barak (Miguel Veloso, min.51)
Bologna: Federico Ravaglia, Takehiro Tomiyasu, Adama Soumaoro, Lorenzo De Silvestri, Mitchell Dijks (Riccardo Orsolini, min.74), Andreas Olsen, Roberto Soriano, Jerdy Schouten (Andrea Poli, min.90), Emanuel Vignato (Musa Juwara, min.90), Nicola Sansone (Musa Barrow, min.62) and Rodrigo Palacio (Antonio Raimondo, min.90)
Stadium: the Stadio Marcantonio Bentegodi
Goals: Davide Faraoni (1-0, min. 2), Lorenzo De Silvestri (1-1, min. 32), Nikola Kalinic (2-1, min. 53) and Rodrigo Palacio (2-2, min. 82)

More From 888post