Cagliari 0 – Genoa 1- The Islanders suffer home loss to The Griffin

The final game of the season and Genoa have the final word against Cagliari
Cagliari vs. Genoa
Adriano Saul

Adriano Saul

Reporting from beautiful, colorful city of Genoa, Adriano goes to the great lengths to make sure that no football fan remains uninformed about everything that happens in the best league of Italy.

Genoa defeat Cagliari 1-0 on Saturday at the Sardegna Arena. Cagliari were looking for a victory following a disappointing 0-0 draw with AC Milan in their previous game. Genoa lost 4-3 in the last match they played against Atalanta. Following the final whistle at the end of the last game of the Serie A season, Cagliari and Genoa are 16th (37 points) and 11th (42 points) in the league respectively, after a total of 38 matches.

Genoa started the game well, thanks to Eldor Shomurodov giving The Griffin the lead, 15 minutes in to see out the first half 0-1. The second 45 minutes ended with little further action at either end and goalless.

For Cagliari, Alfred Duncan, Gabriele Zappa, Giovanni Simeone, Gaston Pereiro and Riccardo Sottil, came on for Radja Nainggolan, Nahitan Nandez, Alberto Cerri, Alessandro Deiola and Babis Lykogiannis. Genoa brought on Valon Behrami, Yayah Kallon, Miha Zajc, Ivan Radovanovic and Domenico Criscito, to replace Andrea Masiello, Marko Pjaca, Goran Pandev, Eldor Shomurodov and Davide Zappacosta.

The referee booked Andrea Carboni from Cagliari. Genoa had the worst of it though, with Valon Behrami, Filippo Melegoni and Kevin Strootman seeing yellow, and Valon Behrami (2 yellow cards) then sent off with a red.

Technical card:
Cagliari: Alessio Cragno, Andrea Carboni, Ragnar Klavan, Daniele Rugani, Nahitan Nandez (Gabriele Zappa, min.46), Alessandro Deiola (Gaston Pereiro, min.69), Razvan Marin, Babis Lykogiannis (Riccardo Sottil, min.80), Alberto Cerri (Giovanni Simeone, min.69), Joao Pedro and Radja Nainggolan (Alfred Duncan, min.11)
Genoa: Alberto Paleari, Andrea Masiello (Valon Behrami, min.46), Cristian Zapata, Edoardo Goldaniga, Marko Pjaca (Yayah Kallon, min.46), Kevin Strootman, Nicolo Rovella, Filippo Melegoni, Davide Zappacosta (Domenico Criscito, min.90), Goran Pandev (Miha Zajc, min.57) and Eldor Shomurodov (Ivan Radovanovic, min.86)
Stadium: the Sardegna Arena
Goals: Eldor Shomurodov (0-1, min. 15)

More From 888post