Atalanta 2 – Sassuolo 1: Atalanta seal precious win at the Gewiss Stadium

Atalanta vs. Sassuolo

Photo Credit: AP

Sassuolo fell to an away defeat at the hands of Atalanta at the Gewiss Stadium on Tuesday. Atalanta were looking to pick up points, following a 1-0 victory against Salernitana. Sassuolo, on the other hand, were beaten 1-0 in the previous match against Torino. Following today’s result, Atalanta and Sassuolo currently occupy 4th and 12th spots in the league, with 10 points and 4 points respectively after 5 matches.

It was an impressive opening from The Goddess, with an early goal from Robin Gosens in the 3rd minute. Atalanta looked to have the game under control when they scored again and incerased their lead, thanks to a goal from Davide Zappacosta, 37 minutes in to establish a 2-0. Neroverdi in turn, then responded just before half-time increasing their lead with an effort from Domenico Berardi, finishing the first half 2-1. Both teams unable to deliver anything further, the score remained at 2-1 at full time.

For Atalanta, Josip Ilicic, Giuseppe Pezzella, Joakim Maehle, Mario Pasalic and Roberto Piccoli, came on for Ruslan Malinovskyi, Robin Gosens, Davide Zappacosta, Matteo Pessina and Duvan Zapata. Sassuolo brought on Abdou Harroui, Giacomo Raspadori, Filip Djuricic, Maxime Lopez and Gianluca Scamacca, to replace Francesco Magnanelli, Jeremie Boga, Hamed Junior Traoré, Davide Frattesi and Gregoire Defrel.

There were bookings for Ruslan Malinovskyi and Giuseppe Pezzella from Atalanta. For Sassuolo, Gian Marco Ferrari and Maxime Lopez saw yellow.

Atalanta will next travel to Internazionale, while Sassuolo will face Salernitana at home.

Technical card:
Atalanta: Juan Musso, Rafael Toloi, Merih Demiral, Berat Djimsiti, Davide Zappacosta (Joakim Maehle, min.69), Teun Koopmeiners, Marten De Roon, Robin Gosens (Giuseppe Pezzella, min.69), Duvan Zapata (Roberto Piccoli, min.84), Ruslan Malinovskyi (Josip Ilicic, min.63) and Matteo Pessina (Mario Pasalic, min.84)
Sassuolo: Andrea Consigli, Mert Muldur, Gian Marco Ferrari, Kaan Ayhan, Giorgos Kyriakopoulos, Domenico Berardi, Hamed Junior Traoré (Filip Djuricic, min.67), Davide Frattesi (Maxime Lopez, min.82), Francesco Magnanelli (Abdou Harroui, min.60), Jeremie Boga (Giacomo Raspadori, min.60) and Gregoire Defrel (Gianluca Scamacca, min.82)
Stadium: the Gewiss Stadium
Goals: Robin Gosens (1-0, min. 3), Davide Zappacosta (2-0, min. 37) and Domenico Berardi (2-1, min. 44)