Atalanta 1 – Fiorentina 2: Home defeat for The Goddess as The Purple One take points

Atalanta vs. Fiorentina

Atalanta were defeated at home by Fiorentina at the Gewiss Stadium on Saturday. Atalanta wanted to improve their league standing after a scoreless draw against Bologna in their previous match. Fiorentina, on the other hand, were able to continue their winning streak after a 2-1 win against Torino in their last match. After today’s result, Atalanta are currently 10th with 4 points from 3 matches, while Fiorentina sit in 6th, with 6 points from 3.

The Purple One found the net first, with Dusan Vlahovic giving Fiorentina the lead, at 33 minutes, to take a 0-1 lead into half time.

Fiorentina started strong in the second half and were able to dominate, thanks to an early penalty 2nd effort from Dusan Vlahovic in the 49th minute. Atalanta in turn, then responded in the 65th minute increasing their lead with an effort from Duvan Zapata. When the final wisthle blew, the result was 2-1 to Fiorentina.

For Atalanta, Robin Gosens, Ruslan Malinovskyi, Josip Ilicic, Roberto Piccoli and Teun Koopmeiners, came on for Joakim Maehle, Aleksey Miranchuk, Mario Pasalic, Duvan Zapata and Matteo Pessina. Fiorentina brought on Alvaro Odriozola, Sofyan Amrabat, Riccardo Saponara, Gaetano Castrovilli and Nicolas Gonzalez, to replace Lorenzo Venuti, Lucas Torreira, Riccardo Sottil, Alfred Duncan and Jose Callejon.

There were bookings for Joakim Maehle, Robin Gosens, Remo Freuler and Jose Luis Palomino from Atalanta. For Fiorentina, Giacomo Bonaventura, Igor, Nikola Milenkovic and Alvaro Odriozola saw yellow.

Next up, Atalanta are away to Salernitana, whilst Fiorentina will travel to face Genoa.

Technical card:
Atalanta: Marco Sportiello, Rafael Toloi, Berat Djimsiti, Jose Luis Palomino, Joakim Maehle (Robin Gosens, min.50), Remo Freuler, Mario Pasalic (Josip Ilicic, min.82), Davide Zappacosta, Matteo Pessina (Teun Koopmeiners, min.85), Duvan Zapata (Roberto Piccoli, min.82) and Aleksey Miranchuk (Ruslan Malinovskyi, min.50)
Fiorentina: Pietro Terracciano, Lorenzo Venuti (Alvaro Odriozola, min.25), Nikola Milenkovic, Igor, Cristiano Biraghi, Giacomo Bonaventura, Alfred Duncan (Gaetano Castrovilli, min.76), Lucas Torreira (Sofyan Amrabat, min.66), Dusan Vlahovic, Jose Callejon (Nicolas Gonzalez, min.76) and Riccardo Sottil (Riccardo Saponara, min.66)
Stadium: the Gewiss Stadium
Goals: Dusan Vlahovic (0-1, min. 33), Dusan Vlahovic (0-2, min. 49) and Duvan Zapata (1-2, min. 65)