Atalanta 2-0 Benevento: Visitors fail to take points as Atalanta beat Benevento 2-0

Filippo Inzaghi’s squad travelled to Atalanta on Wednesday, but came away with nothing as Atalanta take the points
Atalanta vs. Benevento
Adriano Saul

Adriano Saul

Reporting from beautiful, colorful city of Genoa, Adriano goes to the great lengths to make sure that no football fan remains uninformed about everything that happens in the best league of Italy.

Atalanta beat Benevento with a thumping 2-0 victory on Wednesday at the Gewiss Stadium. Atalanta were keen to hang onto their position at the top of league and extend their winning run after winning last match. Benevento lost 3-1 in the last match they played against Cagliari. As the table looks today, Atalanta are in 2nd place, with 75 points from 36 matches, while Benevento sit in 18th, with 31 points from 36.

The Goddess started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, thanks to Luis Muriel giving Atalanta the lead, 22 minutes in, finishing the first half 1-0.

Atalanta continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, with a goal from Mario Pasalic in the 67th minute. They managed to see the game out with a clean sheet and a final score of 2-0.

For Atalanta, Josip Ilicic, Mario Pasalic, Berat Djimsiti, Aleksey Miranchuk and Sam Lammers, came on for Ruslan Malinovskyi, Matteo Pessina, Robin Gosens, Luis Muriel and Duvan Zapata. Benevento brought on Gianluca Caprari, Artur Ionita, Gaetano Letizia, Fabio Depaoli and Andres Tello for Adolfo Gaich, Nicolas Viola, Federico Barba, Perparim Hetemaj and Bryan Dabo.

The referee booked Marten De Roon and Josip Ilicic from Atalanta. Benevento had the worst of it though, with Alessandro Tuia, Federico Barba, Artur Ionita and Luca Caldirola seeing yellow, and Luca Caldirola (2 yellow cards) then sent off with a red.

Atalanta will next play Genoa away, with Benevento facing Crotone at home.

Technical card:
Atalanta: Pierluigi Gollini, Hans Hateboer, Cristian Romero, Jose Luis Palomino, Ruslan Malinovskyi (Josip Ilicic, min.59), Marten De Roon, Remo Freuler, Robin Gosens (Berat Djimsiti, min.59), Matteo Pessina (Mario Pasalic, min.59), Luis Muriel (Aleksey Miranchuk, min.66) and Duvan Zapata (Sam Lammers, min.89)
Benevento: Lorenzo Montipo, Alessandro Tuia, Luca Caldirola, Kamil Glik, Federico Barba (Gaetano Letizia, min.73), Bryan Dabo (Andres Tello, min.85), Riccardo Improta, Gianluca Lapadula, Nicolas Viola (Artur Ionita, min.58), Perparim Hetemaj (Fabio Depaoli, min.73) and Adolfo Gaich (Gianluca Caprari, min.58)
Stadium: the Gewiss Stadium
Goals: Luis Muriel (1-0, min. 22) and Mario Pasalic (2-0, min. 67)

More From 888post