Atalanta 2 – Milan 3- The Goddess suffer home loss to Rossoneri

Photo Credit: AP

AC Milan eased past Atalanta in a 3-2 victory on Sunday at the Gewiss Stadium. Atalanta wanted to continue adding points after a 2-2 draw against Internazionale. Milan were hoping to increase their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Spezia Calcio and Venezia. As the table looks today, Atalanta are in 8th place on the table and has 11 points while Milan sit in 2nd with 19 points after 7 matches.

Rossoneri started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, thanks to an early goal from Davide Calabria in the 1st minute. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from Sandro Tonali just before half-time, finishing the first half 0-2.

Milan continued to pile on the pressure in the second and were rewarded, with Rafael Leao finding the net, at 78 minutes. However, The Goddess weren’t lying down and managed to pull back a goal from Duvan Zapata at the 86 minute mark. However they weren’t finished yet and Mario Pasalic made it 3-2 just before the final whistle to make it 3-2.

For Atalanta, Giuseppe Pezzella, Teun Koopmeiners, Luis Muriel, Josip Ilicic and Mario Pasalic, came on for Matteo Pessina, Merih Demiral, Joakim Maehle, Ruslan Malinovskyi and Remo Freuler. Milan brought on Junior Messias, Ismael Bennacer, Fode Toure and Pietro Pellegri, to replace Brahim Diaz, Sandro Tonali, Theo Hernandez and Rafael Leao.

There were bookings for Marten De Roon from Atalanta, and Brahim Diaz, Fikayo Tomori, Junior Messias and Rafael Leao, for Milan.

Atalanta will next play Empoli away, with Milan facing Hellas Verona at home.

Technical card:
Atalanta: Juan Musso, Berat Djimsiti, Jose Luis Palomino, Merih Demiral (Teun Koopmeiners, min.46), Davide Zappacosta, Marten De Roon, Remo Freuler (Mario Pasalic, min.87), Joakim Maehle (Luis Muriel, min.56), Matteo Pessina (Giuseppe Pezzella, min.24), Ruslan Malinovskyi (Josip Ilicic, min.56) and Duvan Zapata
AC Milan: Mike Maignan, Davide Calabria, Simon Kjaer, Fikayo Tomori, Theo Hernandez (Fode Toure, min.80), Alexis Saelemaekers, Brahim Diaz (Junior Messias, min.74), Sandro Tonali (Ismael Bennacer, min.80), Franck Kessie, Rafael Leao (Pietro Pellegri, min.90) and Ante Rebic
Stadium: the Gewiss Stadium
Goals: Davide Calabria (0-1, min. 1), Sandro Tonali (0-2, min. 43), Rafael Leao (0-3, min. 78), Duvan Zapata (1-3, min. 86) and Mario Pasalic (2-3, min. 90)