Atalanta – AC Milan: No home advantage for The Goddess as Rossoneri win

Atalanta suffer a loss during their final game of the season against AC Milan
Atalanta vs. AC Milan
Adriano Saul

Adriano Saul

Reporting from beautiful, colorful city of Genoa, Adriano goes to the great lengths to make sure that no football fan remains uninformed about everything that happens in the best league of Italy.

Atalanta succumbed to a home defeat to AC Milan at the Gewiss Stadium on Sunday. Atalanta were looking to pick up points after winning their previous two matches in the competition. The most recent was against the Genoa away (4-3), the other to Benevento at home (2-0) whilst Milan had managed to pick up a single point in their encounter with Cagliari. Following the final whistle at the end of the last game of the Serie A season, Atalanta are in 2nd place on the table and has 78 points while Milan sit in 3rd with 76 points after 38 matches.

Milan scored first, thanks to a goal from Franck Kessie just before half-time, finishing the first half 0-1.

Rossoneri continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, with Franck Kessie finding the net again just before the final whistle, leaving the final score at 2-0.

For Atalanta, Luis Muriel, Mario Pasalic, Aleksey Miranchuk and Jose Luis Palomino, came on for Matteo Pessina, Joakim Maehle, Remo Freuler and Rafael Toloi. Milan brought on Soualiho Meite, Rade Krunic, Diogo Dalot and Mario Mandzukic, to replace Brahim Diaz, Ismael Bennacer, Alexis Saelemaekers and Rafael Leao.

The referee booked Remo Freuler, Marten De Roon and Rafael Toloi from Atalanta and Marten De Roon went off with a red card, while Milan’s Mario Mandzukic and Diogo Dalot also received a yellow.

Technical card:
Atalanta: Gianluigi Donnarumma, Davide Calabria, Fikayo Tomori, Simon Kjaer, Theo Hernandez, Franck Kessie, Ismael Bennacer, Alexis Saelemaekers, Hakan Calhanoglu, Rafael Leao and Brahim Diaz
AC Milan: Pierluigi Gollini, Joakim Maehle, Rafael Toloi, Cristian Romero, Berat Djimsiti, Robin Gosens, Remo Freuler, Marten De Roon, Ruslan Malinovskyi, Matteo Pessina and Duvan Zapata
Stadium: the Gewiss Stadium
Goals: Franck Kessie (0-1, min. 43) and Franck Kessie (0-2, min. 90)

More From 888post