Atalanta 4-2 Napoli – Visitors leave with nothing as Atalanta see off Napoli in 4-2 victory

Technical card:
Atalanta: Alex Meret, Giovanni Di Lorenzo, Amir Rrahmani, Nikola Maksimovic, Mario Rui, Matteo Politano, Fabian Ruiz, Tiemoue Bakayoko, Piotr Zielinski, Eljif Elmas and Victor Osimhen
Napoli: Pierluigi Gollini, Berat Djimsiti, Cristian Romero, Rafael Toloi, Joakim Maehle, Robin Gosens, Remo Freuler, Marten De Roon, Matteo Pessina, Duvan Zapata and Luis Muriel
Stadium: the Gewiss Stadium
Goals: Duvan Zapata (1-0, min. 52), Piotr Zielinski (1-1, min. 58), Robin Gosens (2-1, min. 64), Luis Muriel (3-1, min. 71), Robin Gosens (3-2, min. 75) and Cristian Romero (4-2, min. 79)

Napoli on away loss to Atalanta at the Gewiss Stadium on Sunday. Both Atalanta and Napoli arrived on the back of wins. Atalanta were looking to continue their run after winning last match. Napoli had been hopeful of extending their winning run, after a 1-0 victory against Juventus. After today’s result, Atalanta and Napoli are 4th, (43 points) and 7th, (40 points), in the league respectively, after 23 matches.

After an uneventful first half, Atalanta staged a comeback in the second half, with a goal from Duvan Zapata, 52 minutes in. However, their lead didn’t last for long, as an equalizer from a goal from Piotr Zielinski in the 58th minute brought Napoli level. Atalanta took the lead thanks to a goal from Robin Gosens, 64 minutes in to establish the 2-1. Later, Atalanta scored again and increased their advantage 3-1 thanks to a goal from Luis Muriel, 71 minutes in. However, Napoli pull-back, 75 minutes in, with a goal from Robin Gosens, scoring his second goal. Atalanta extended the margin thanks to a goal from Cristian Romero, 79 minutes in to establish the 4-2. The game ended with a 4-2 victory for Atalanta.

For Atalanta Mario Pasalic, Aleksey Miranchuk, Jose Luis Palomino, Bosko Sutalo and Ruslan Malinovskyi came on for Remo Freuler, Luis Muriel, Matteo Pessina, Joakim Maehle and Duvan Zapata, while Napoli brought on Lorenzo Insigne, Faouzi Ghoulam, Kalidou Koulibaly and Stanislav Lobotka to replace Eljif Elmas, Mario Rui, Nikola Maksimovic and Piotr Zielinski.

There were bookings for Berat Djimsiti and Robin Gosens from Atalanta and Giovanni Di Lorenzo for Napoli.

Atalanta will next travel to Sampdoria, while Napoli will face Benevento at home.

*The credit for all of photos in this article belongs to AP*