Milan 2 – Lazio 0: The White and Sky Blues unable to avoid away defeat

AC Milan vs. Lazio

AC Milan defeat Lazio 2-0 on Sunday at the Stadio Giuseppe Meazza. Both Milan and Lazio arrived on the back of wins. Milan were looking to pick up points after winning their previous two games against Cagliari at home and Sampdoria away, by 4-1 and 1-0 respectively while Lazio were hoping to increase their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Spezia Calcio and Empoli. After today’s result, both teams are on 6 points and sit in 6th and 4th places respectively after 3 matches.

Milan started the game well, thanks to Rafael Leao finding the net just before half-time

Rossoneri continued to pile on the pressure in the second and were rewarded, with Zlatan Ibrahimovic finding the net, at 67 minutes. When the final wisthle blew, the result was 2-0 to Milan.

For Milan, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Tiemoue Bakayoko, Alexis Saelemaekers, Ismael Bennacer and Fode Toure, came on for Rafael Leao, Franck Kessie, Alessandro Florenzi, Tiemoue Bakayoko and Brahim Diaz. Lazio replaced Mattia Zaccagni, Manuel Lazzari, Toma Basic, Raul Moro and Vedat Muriqi with Felipe Anderson, Adam Marusic, Sergej Milinkovic-Savic, Pedro and Ciro Immobile.

There were bookings for Tiemoue Bakayoko from Milan, and Adam Marusic, Pepe Reina, Luis Alberto and Elseid Hysaj, for Lazio.

Milan will next travel to Juventus, while Lazio will face Cagliari at home.

Technical card:
AC Milan: Mike Maignan, Davide Calabria, Alessio Romagnoli, Fikayo Tomori, Theo Hernandez, Alessandro Florenzi (Alexis Saelemaekers, min.61), Brahim Diaz (Fode Toure, min.80), Franck Kessie (Tiemoue Bakayoko, min.61), Sandro Tonali, Rafael Leao (Zlatan Ibrahimovic, min.60) and Ante Rebic
Lazio: Pepe Reina, Adam Marusic (Manuel Lazzari, min.64), Francesco Acerbi, Luiz Felipe, Elseid Hysaj, Sergej Milinkovic-Savic (Toma Basic, min.75), Luis Alberto, Lucas Leiva, Ciro Immobile (Vedat Muriqi, min.84), Pedro (Raul Moro, min.84) and Felipe Anderson (Mattia Zaccagni, min.64)
Stadium: the Stadio Giuseppe Meazza
Goals: Rafael Leao (1-0, min. 45) and Zlatan Ibrahimovic (2-0, min. 67)