Schalke 1-2 BSC: Jubilant Hertha take all 3 points against Schalke, in a 2-1 win

Pal Dardai's squad secured a valuable victory to Schalke at the Veltins-Arena on Wednesday
Christoph Spitz

Christoph Spitz

Christoph is straigh-up honest about how easy he has it. While the supporters of other teams wait for years or decades for the Bundesliga trophy, he cheers for Bayern.

BSC beat Schalke with a thumping 2-1 victory on Wednesday at the Veltins-Arena. Schalke were looking to get back winning ways after losing 4-2 to Hoffenheim in their previous fixture. Hertha had managed to pick up a single point in their encounter with Arminia Bielefeld. As the table looks today, Schalke and Hertha currently occupy 18th and 13th spots in the league, with 13 points and 34 points respectively after 31 matches.

The Royal Blues found the net first, thanks to Amine Harit giving Schalke the lead after only 6 minutes. However, their celebrations were kept brief, as Dedryck Boyata equalised for Hertha, 18 minutes in to see out the first half 1-1.

The Old Lady continued to pile on the pressure in the second and were rewarded, with Jessic Ngankam finding the net, 73 minutes in, leaving the final score at 2-1.

For Schalke, Benito Raman, Steven Skrzybski and Goncalo Paciencia, came on for Klaas-Jan Huntelaar, Blendi Idrizi and Timo Becker. Hertha brought on Jessic Ngankam, Santiago Ascacibar, Dodi Lukebakio, Jonas Michelbrink and Jordan Torunarigha, to replace Krzysztof Piatek, Vladimir Darida, Mathew Leckie, Javairo Dilrosun and Nemanja Radonjic.

The referee booked Amine Harit, Shkodran Mustafi and Sead Kolasinac from Schalke. Hertha had the worst of it though, with Vladimir Darida, Dodi Lukebakio, Dedryck Boyata and Jonas Michelbrink seeing yellow, and Dodi Lukebakio (2 yellow cards) then sent off with a red.

Schalke next face Eintracht Frankfurt and Hertha are at home to FC Köln.

Technical card:
Schalke: Ralf Fahrmann, Timo Becker (Goncalo Paciencia, min.90), Shkodran Mustafi, Salif Sane, Bastian Oczipka, Sead Kolasinac, Amine Harit, Blendi Idrizi (Steven Skrzybski, min.77), Florian Flick, Klaas-Jan Huntelaar (Benito Raman, min.77) and Matthew Hoppe
BSC: Alexander Schwolow, Peter Pekarik, Dedryck Boyata, Omar Alderete, Marvin Plattenhardt, Mathew Leckie (Dodi Lukebakio, min.58), Lucas Tousart, Vladimir Darida (Santiago Ascacibar, min.58), Javairo Dilrosun (Jonas Michelbrink, min.76), Nemanja Radonjic (Jordan Torunarigha, min.89) and Krzysztof Piatek (Jessic Ngankam, min.58)
Stadium: the Veltins-Arena
Goals: Amine Harit (1-0, min. 6), Dedryck Boyata (1-1, min. 18) and Jessic Ngankam (1-2, min. 73)

More From 888post