Return leg to decide qualification after Benfica draw with Arsenal

Benfica vs. Arsenal

Photo Credit: AP

Technical card:
Benfica: Bernd Leno, Hector Bellerin, Gabriel Magalhaes, David Luiz, Cedric Soares, Martin Odegaard, Dani Ceballos, Granit Xhaka, Bukayo Saka, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Emile Smith-Rowe
Arsenal: Helton Leite, Lucas Verissimo, Jan Vertonghen, Nicolas Otamendi, Diogo Goncalves, Pizzi, Julian Weigl, Adel Taarabt, Alex Grimaldo, Luca Waldschmidt and Darwin Nunez
Stadium: Stadio Olimpico
Goals: Pizzi (1-0, min. 55) and Bukayo Saka (1-1, min. 57)

The first confrontation between Benfica and Arsenal held this Thursday at Stadio Olimpico ended with a draw to one. Benfica came from occupying 2nd position in the group stage with 12 points while, for its part, the away team took the 1st place of the group B with a total of 18 points. With this result, Benfica misses the field advantage in the play-off of Europa League, which will have to be resolved in the stadium Arsenal.

After an uneventful first half, The second half started in favour of Benfica, following a goal from Pizzi in the 55th minute. However, their lead didn’t last for long, as an equalizer from a Bukayo Saka, 57 minutes in brought Arsenal level, levelled the score at 1-1 draw.

For Benfica Rafa Silva, Everton, Haris Seferovic, Gabriel Appelt and Chiquinho came on for Luca Waldschmidt, Darwin Nunez, Pizzi, Adel Taarabt and Lucas Verissimo, while Arsenal brought on Kieran Tierney, Nicolas Pepe, Gabriel Martinelli, Mohamed Elneny and Willian to replace Cedric Soares, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Emile Smith-Rowe, Dani Ceballos and Martin Odegaard.

No cards were presented on the game sheet.

On 25 de February We will know who will qualify: it will be decided in the return match that will face both teams again in the stadium Arsenal.

*The credit for all of photos in this article belongs to AP*