The Hammers 2 – Palace 2- Victory beyond reach for The Irons at London Stadium

West Ham United vs. Crystal Palace

On Saturday, The Hammers and Palace were held to a 2-2 draw at London Stadium. The Hammers were keen to hang onto their position at the top of league and extend their winning run after winning their previous two matches against Leicester City at home and Newcastle United away, by 4-1 and 4-2 respectively while Palace secured a point against Brentford in their previous match. As it stands, The Hammers are in 1st place on the table and has 7 points while Palace sit in 14th with 2 points after 3 matches.

The Hammers started strongly in the first half, thanks to Pablo Fornals finding the net at the 39 minute mark, to take a 1-0 lead into half time.

Palace took the lead in the second half, with Conor Gallagher finding the net, at 58 minutes. However, each side looked hungry to win and The Irons then found the back of the net in the 68th minute thanks to Michail Antonio, taking the score to 2-1. In the end though, their lead was short lived, as Conor Gallagher equalised for The Eagles at the 70 minute mark. The final result, The Hammers 2, Palace 2.

For The Hammers, Manuel Lanzini and Andriy Yarmolenko, came on for Jarrod Bowen and Pablo Fornals. Palace brought on Jeffrey Schlupp, to replace James McArthur.

The referee booked Declan Rice for The Hammers.

The Hammers will next travel to Southampton, while Palace will face Tottenham Hotspur at home.

Technical card:
West Ham United: Lukasz Fabianski, Vladimir Coufal, Craig Dawson, Angelo Ogbonna, Aaron Cresswell, Jarrod Bowen (Manuel Lanzini, min.79), Tomas Soucek, Pablo Fornals (Andriy Yarmolenko, min.87), Declan Rice, Said Benrahma and Michail Antonio
Crystal Palace: Vicente Guaita, Joel Ward, Joachim Andersen, Marc Guehi, Tyrick Mitchell, Conor Gallagher, James McArthur (Jeffrey Schlupp, min.88), Cheikhou Kouyate, Wilfried Zaha, Jordan Ayew and Christian Benteke
Stadium: London Stadium
Goals: Pablo Fornals (1-0, min. 39), Conor Gallagher (1-1, min. 58), Michail Antonio (2-1, min. 68) and Conor Gallagher (2-2, min. 70)