West Brom 1 – The Hammers 3: Visitors secure points with win at The Hawthorns

The Hammers left to lick wounds, following West Brom’s visit on Wednesday
West Bromwich Albion vs. West Ham United
Cris Lebron

Cris Lebron

Cris is our author whose career in writing about Premier League lasts exactly the same amount of time he waited for his favorite club to claim the throne of this prestigious league.

West Ham United eased past West Bromwich Albion in a 3-1 victory on Wednesday at The Hawthorns. West Brom were looking to get back winning ways after losing 2-1 to Liverpool in their previous fixture. The Hammers, on the other hand, were unable to beat Brighton & Hove Albion in a 1-1 draw. As the table looks today, West Brom and The Hammers currently occupy 19th and 6th spots in the league, with 26 points and 62 points respectively after 37 matches.

West Brom started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, with Matheus Pereira finding the net, on 27 minutes. However, their celebrations were kept brief, as Tomas Soucek equalised for The Irons just before half-time, finishing the first half 1-1.

The Hammers continued to pile on the pressure in the second and were rewarded, thanks to Angelo Ogbonna finding the net at the 82 minute mark. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from Michail Antonio just before the final whistle with a final score of 3-1.

For West Brom, Grady Diangana, Karlan Ahearne-Grant and Mbaye Diagne, came on for Ainsley Maitland-Niles, Okay Yokuslu and Hal Robson-Kanu. The Hammers brought on Jarrod Bowen and Issa Diop, to replace Said Benrahma and Pablo Fornals.

There were bookings for Sam Johnstone and Okay Yokuslu from West Brom, and Angelo Ogbonna and Craig Dawson, for The Hammers.

West Brom will next travel to Leeds United, while The Hammers will face Southampton at home.

Technical card:
West Bromwich Albion: Sam Johnstone, Darnell Furlong, Kyle Bartley, Semi Ajayi, Conor Townsend, Matt Phillips, Conor Gallagher, Okay Yokuslu (Karlan Ahearne-Grant, min.85), Ainsley Maitland-Niles (Grady Diangana, min.69), Matheus Pereira and Hal Robson-Kanu (Mbaye Diagne, min.89)
West Ham United: Darren Randolph, Vladimir Coufal, Angelo Ogbonna, Craig Dawson, Aaron Cresswell, Said Benrahma (Jarrod Bowen, min.72), Declan Rice, Tomas Soucek, Jesse Lingard, Pablo Fornals (Issa Diop, min.89) and Michail Antonio
Stadium: The Hawthorns
Goals: Matheus Pereira (1-0, min. 27), Tomas Soucek (1-1, min. 45), Angelo Ogbonna (1-2, min. 82) and Michail Antonio (1-3, min. 88)

More From 888post