West Bromwich Albion 3-0 Southampton – The Baggies run riot, scoring 3 without reply at The Hawthorns

Ralph Hasenhuttl's squad succumbed to an away defeat against West Bromwich Albion at The Hawthorns
West Bromwich Albion vs. Southampton
Cris Lebron

Cris Lebron

Cris is our author whose career in writing about Premier League lasts exactly the same amount of time he waited for his favorite club to claim the throne of this prestigious league.

On Monday, Southampton suffer an away defeat to West Bromwich Albion at The Hawthorns. West Brom were looking to pick up points after winning last match. Southampton lost 5-2 in the last match they played against Manchester City. As it stands, West Brom and Southampton currently occupy 19th and 14th spots in the league, with 24 points and 36 points respectively after 31 matches.

West Brom didn’t take long to start the rout, with Matheus Pereira opening the rout in the 32nd minute. However they weren’t finished yet and Matt Phillips made it 2-0 at the 35 minute mark and the first half ended 2-0.

The Baggies continued to pile on the pressure in the second and were rewarded, with Callum Robinson finding the net at the 69 minute mark, leaving a rampant West Brom with a resounding 3-0.

West Brom brought on Conor Gallagher, Hal Robson-Kanu and Semi Ajayi for Callum Robinson, Mbaye Diagne and Kyle Bartley. Southampton brought on Che Adams, Nathan Tella and Moussa Djenepo, to replace Theo Walcott, Danny Ings and Ibrahima Diallo.

The referee booked James Ward-Prowse for Southampton.

West Brom will next travel to Leicester City, while Southampton will face Leicester City at home.

Technical card:
West Bromwich Albion: Sam Johnstone, Darnell Furlong, Kyle Bartley (Semi Ajayi, min.85), Dara O’Shea, Conor Townsend, Matt Phillips, Okay Yokuslu, Ainsley Maitland-Niles, Matheus Pereira, Mbaye Diagne (Hal Robson-Kanu, min.75) and Callum Robinson (Conor Gallagher, min.72)
Southampton: Fraser Forster, Kyle Walker-Peters, Jan Bednarek, Jannik Vestergaard, Ryan Bertrand, Stuart Armstrong, James Ward-Prowse, Ibrahima Diallo (Moussa Djenepo, min.87), Theo Walcott (Che Adams, min.76), Danny Ings (Nathan Tella, min.87) and Nathan Redmond
Stadium: The Hawthorns
Goals: Matheus Pereira (1-0, min. 32), Matt Phillips (2-0, min. 35) and Callum Robinson (3-0, min. 69)

More From 888post