Tottenham Hotspur – Wolverhampton Wanderers: The Wanderers unable to avoid narrow defeat away to Tottenham (2-0)

Home crowd rewarded with a win, as Ryan Mason’s team triumph over Wolves
Tottenham Hotspur vs. Wolverhampton Wanderers
Cris Lebron

Cris Lebron

Cris is our author whose career in writing about Premier League lasts exactly the same amount of time he waited for his favorite club to claim the throne of this prestigious league.

Wolverhampton Wanderers on away loss to Spurs at Tottenham Hotspur Stadium on Sunday. Spurs were hoping to get something from this game, following a previous defeat to Leeds United. Wolves were able to continue their winning streak after a 2-1 win against Brighton & Hove Albion in their last match. After today’s result, Spurs and Wolves currently occupy 6th and 12th spots in the league, with 59 points and 45 points respectively after 36 matches.

It was an impressive opening from Spurs, with Harry Kane giving The Lilywhites the lead just before half-time

Spurs continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, thanks to Pierre Hojbjerg finding the net, on 62 minutes, leaving the final score at 2-0.

Both teams used all available substitutes. For Spurs, Harry Winks, Tanguy Ndombele and Moussa Sissoko, came on for Giovani Lo Celso, Dele Alli and Gareth Bale, Wolves brought on Willian Jose, Ruben Neves and Theodor Corbeanu to replace Vitinha, Morgan Gibbs-White and Fabio Silva.

The referee booked Japhet Tanganga for Spurs.

Spurs will play their next fixture at home against Aston Villa, while Wolves will face Everton away.

Technical card:
Tottenham Hotspur: Hugo Lloris, Japhet Tanganga, Toby Alderweireld, Eric Dier, Sergio Reguilon, Gareth Bale (Moussa Sissoko, min.89), Giovani Lo Celso (Harry Winks, min.68), Dele Alli (Tanguy Ndombele, min.82), Pierre Hojbjerg, Heung Min Son and Harry Kane
Wolverhampton Wanderers: Rui Patricio, Nelson Semedo, Conor Coady, Romain Saiss, Ki-Jana Hoever, Morgan Gibbs-White (Ruben Neves, min.73), Joao Moutinho, Vitinha (Willian Jose, min.63), Leander Dendoncker, Adama Traore and Fabio Silva (Theodor Corbeanu, min.86)
Stadium: Tottenham Hotspur Stadium
Goals: Harry Kane (1-0, min. 45) and Pierre Hojbjerg (2-0, min. 62)

More From 888post