Southampton 1-1 Leicester City: Soton and Leicester share the honours after a 1-1 draw

Neither Soton nor Leicester able to break the dead-lock, the game ends in a 1-1 draw
Southampton vs. Leicester City
Cris Lebron

Cris Lebron

Cris is our author whose career in writing about Premier League lasts exactly the same amount of time he waited for his favorite club to claim the throne of this prestigious league.

Soton were held to 1-1 draw by Leicester down on Friday at St. Mary’s Stadium. Soton were hoping to get something from this game, following a previous defeat to Manchester City. Leicester were hoping to increase their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Crystal Palace and West Bromwich Albion. As the table looks today, Soton are in 14th place, with 37 points from 34 matches, while Leicester sit in 3rd, with 63 points from 34.

After an un-eventful first half, The Saints took the initiative in the second half, thanks to a goal from James Ward-Prowse at the 61 minute mark. In the end though, their lead was short lived, as Jonny Evans equalised for Leicester, 68 minutes in and seeing the game end 1-1.

For Soton, Mohammed Salisu, Ibrahima Diallo and Daniel N`Lundulu, came on for Nathan Tella, Takumi Minamino and Che Adams. Leicester replaced Ayoze Perez and Marc Albrighton with Wesley Fofana and Luke Thomas.

The referee booked Takumi Minamino and Jannik Vestergaard saw the red card, for Soton.

Soton will next travel to Liverpool, while Leicester will face Newcastle United at home.

Technical card:
Southampton: Alex McCarthy, Kyle Walker-Peters, Jannik Vestergaard, Jan Bednarek, Jack Stephens, Nathan Tella (Mohammed Salisu, min.15), James Ward-Prowse, Stuart Armstrong, Nathan Redmond, Che Adams (Daniel N`Lundulu, min.90) and Takumi Minamino (Ibrahima Diallo, min.76)
Leicester City: Kasper Schmeichel, Caglar Soyuncu, Jonny Evans, Wesley Fofana (Ayoze Perez, min.46), Timothy Castagne, Onyinye Wilfred Ndidi, Youri Tielemans, Luke Thomas (Marc Albrighton, min.69), Jamie Vardy, James Maddison and Kelechi Iheanacho
Stadium: St. Mary’s Stadium
Goals: James Ward-Prowse (1-0, min. 61) and Jonny Evans (1-1, min. 68)

More From 888post