Palace 3 – Spurs 0: The Lilywhites blown away at Selhurst Park

Crystal Palace vs. Tottenham Hotspur

Photo Credit: AP

Crystal Palace beat Tottenham Hotspur with a thumping 3-0 victory on Saturday at Selhurst Park. Palace were looking for a victory following a disappointing 2-2 draw with West Ham United in their previous game while Spurs were hoping to increase their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Watford and Wolverhampton Wanderers. Following today’s result, Palace are in 11th place, with 5 points from 4 matches, while Spurs sit in 1st, with 9 points from 4.

After an un-eventful first half, Palace piled on the pressure in the second and were rewarded, with Wilfried Zaha giving The Eagles the lead in the 76th minute. Palace looked to have the game under control when they scored again and incerased their lead, thanks to a goal from Odsonne Edouard, 84 minutes in to establish a 2-0. However they weren’t finished yet and Odsonne Edouard made it 3-0 just before the final whistle to make it 3-0.

For Palace, Luka Milivojevic, Odsonne Edouard and Michael Olise, came on for Cheikhou Kouyate, Christian Benteke and Jordan Ayew. Spurs replaced Eric Dier and Harry Winks for Joe Rodon and Ben Davies.

The referee booked Wilfried Zaha and Conor Gallagher from Palace. Spurs had the worst of it though, with Japhet Tanganga and Lucas Moura seeing yellow, and Japhet Tanganga (2 yellow cards) then sent off with a red.

Palace will next travel to Liverpool, while Spurs will face Chelsea at home.

Technical card:
Crystal Palace: Vicente Guaita, Joel Ward, Joachim Andersen, Marc Guehi, Tyrick Mitchell, Cheikhou Kouyate (Luka Milivojevic, min.67), James McArthur, Conor Gallagher, Wilfried Zaha, Christian Benteke (Odsonne Edouard, min.83) and Jordan Ayew (Michael Olise, min.87)
Tottenham Hotspur: Hugo Lloris, Emerson, Japhet Tanganga, Eric Dier (Joe Rodon, min.12), Sergio Reguilon, Harry Winks (Ben Davies, min.60), Pierre Hojbjerg, Oliver Skipp, Dele Alli, Lucas Moura and Harry Kane
Stadium: Selhurst Park
Goals: Wilfried Zaha (1-0, min. 76), Odsonne Edouard (2-0, min. 84) and Odsonne Edouard (3-0, min. 90)
*The credit for all of photos in this article belongs to AP*