Palace 2 – Leicester 2- The Eagles and The Foxes play out a draw

Photo Credit: AP

On Sunday, Palace and Leicester were held to a 2-2 draw at Selhurst Park. With both teams drawing in their previous fixtures, they were keen to pick up points. Palace were looking for a victory after a 1-1 draw against Brighton & Hove Albion. Leicester were unable to beat Burnley in a 2-2 draw. As it stands, Palace are currently 14th with 7 points from 7 matches, while Leicester sit in 13th, with 8 points from 7.

The Foxes started strongly in the first half, with Kelechi Iheanacho finding the net, 31 minutes in. However they weren’t finished yet and Jamie Vardy made it 2-0 at the 37 minute mark. The score at half time was 0-2.

Palace took the lead in the second half, thanks to a goal from Michael Olise in the 61st minute. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from Jeffrey Schlupp, at 72 minutes to make it 2-2.

Palace brought on Michael Olise, Jeffrey Schlupp and Christian Benteke for Jordan Ayew, Conor Gallagher and Odsonne Edouard. Leicester brought on Boubakary Soumare, James Maddison and Marc Albrighton, to replace Hamza Choudhury, Kelechi Iheanacho and Ademola Lookman.

There were bookings for Joachim Andersen and James McArthur from Palace, and Ryan Bertrand, Youri Tielemans and Harvey Barnes, for Leicester.

Palace will next play Arsenal away, with Leicester facing Manchester United at home.

Technical card:
Crystal Palace: Vicente Guaita, Joel Ward, Joachim Andersen, Marc Guehi, Tyrick Mitchell, James McArthur, Luka Milivojevic, Conor Gallagher (Jeffrey Schlupp, min.71), Odsonne Edouard (Christian Benteke, min.85), Jordan Ayew (Michael Olise, min.54) and Wilfried Zaha
Leicester City: Kasper Schmeichel, Timothy Castagne, Jannik Vestergaard, Caglar Soyuncu, Ryan Bertrand, Ademola Lookman (Marc Albrighton, min.80), Youri Tielemans, Hamza Choudhury (Boubakary Soumare, min.59), Harvey Barnes, Jamie Vardy and Kelechi Iheanacho (James Maddison, min.71)
Stadium: Selhurst Park
Goals: Kelechi Iheanacho (0-1, min. 31), Jamie Vardy (0-2, min. 37), Michael Olise (1-2, min. 61) and Jeffrey Schlupp (2-2, min. 72)