Crystal Palace – Aston Villa: C Palace take the points and enjoy a home win against The Lions

Crystal Palace vs. Aston Villa

Crystal Palace’s 3-2 win over Aston Villa on Sunday, was hard fought at Selhurst Park. Palace were keen to hang onto their position at the top of league and extend their winning run, following a 2-0 victory against Sheffield United. Villa, on the other hand, were beaten 3-1 in the previous match against Manchester United. Following today’s result, Palace are in 13th place on the table and has 44 points while Villa sit in 11th with 49 points after 36 matches.

It was an impressive opening from Villa, thanks to John McGinn finding the net at the 17 minute mark. However, the good fortune didn’t last for long. An equalizer from Christian Benteke at the 32 minute mark brought Palace level. However, The Villa at the 34 minute mark found the back of the net following a Anwar El Ghazi goal, finalising the first half 1-2.

The Eagles continued to pile on the pressure in the second and were rewarded, with a goal from Wilfried Zaha at the 75 minute mark. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from Tyrick Mitchell, 84 minutes in to make it 3-2.

For Palace, James Tomkins, came on for James McCarthy. Villa replaced Jack Grealish, Keinan Davis and Wesley with Bertrand Traore, Jacob Ramsey and Anwar El Ghazi.

There were bookings for Joel Ward, Cheikhou Kouyate and Wilfried Zaha from Palace, and John McGinn and Kortney Hause, for Villa.

Palace will play at home against Arsenal, while Villa will face Tottenham Hotspur away.

Technical card:
Crystal Palace: Emilano Martinez, Ahmed Elmohamady, Ezri Konsa, Kortney Hause, Matt Targett, Bertrand Traore, Douglas Luiz, John McGinn, Jacob Ramsey, Anwar El Ghazi and Ollie Watkins
Aston Villa: Jack Butland, Joel Ward, Gary Cahill, Cheikhou Kouyate, Tyrick Mitchell, James McCarthy, Jeffrey Schlupp, Eberechi Eze, Christian Benteke, Wilfried Zaha and Andros Townsend
Stadium: Selhurst Park
Goals: John McGinn (0-1, min. 17), Christian Benteke (1-1, min. 32), Anwar El Ghazi (1-2, min. 34), Wilfried Zaha (2-2, min. 75) and Tyrick Mitchell (3-2, min. 84)
*The credit for all of photos in this article belongs to AP*