Brentford 3 – Liverpool 3: Plenty of goals but no win at Brentford Community Stadium

Brentford vs. Liverpool

Photo Credit: AP

On Saturday, Brentford and Liverpool were held to a 3-3 draw at Brentford Community Stadium. Both Brentford and Liverpool arrived in good form, having secured victories in their previous matches. Brentford were looking to continue their run, following a 2-0 victory against Wolverhampton Wanderers whilst Liverpool were hoping to increase their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Crystal Palace and Leeds United. As the table looks today, Brentford and Liverpool currently occupy 9th and 1st spots in the table, with 9 points and 14 points respectively after 6 matches.

Brentford started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, with Ethan Pinnock giving The Bees the lead at the 27 minute mark. However, their lead was short lived, as Diogo Jota equalised for The Reds at the 31 minute mark, finalising the first half 1-1.

Liverpool staged a comeback in the second half, thanks to a goal from Mohamed Salah in the 54th minute. However, they were unable to maintain their lead, Vitaly Janelt managed to equalize and take the sides off in the 63rd minute at 2-2. However, each side looked hungry to win and Liverpool then found the back of the net at the 67 minute mark thanks to Curtis Jones, taking the score to 3-2. In the end though, their celebrations were kept brief, as Yoane Wissa equalised for Brentford in the 82nd minute. The game ended wih a 3-3 draw.

For Brentford, Zanka, Shandon Baptiste and Yoane Wissa, came on for Ethan Pinnock, Frank Onyeka and Christian Norgaard. Liverpool brought on Roberto Firmino, to replace Curtis Jones.

There were bookings for Frank Onyeka from Brentford, and Andy Robertson, for Liverpool.

Brentford will next play West Ham United away, with Liverpool facing Manchester City at home.

Technical card:
Brentford: David Raya, Ethan Pinnock (Zanka, min.42), Pontus Jansson, Kristoffer Ajer, Sergi Canos, Frank Onyeka (Shandon Baptiste, min.68), Christian Norgaard (Yoane Wissa, min.78), Vitaly Janelt, Rico Henry, Ivan Toney and Bryan Mbeumo
Liverpool: Alisson, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Virgil Van Dijk, Joel Matip, Andy Robertson, Curtis Jones (Roberto Firmino, min.68), Fabinho, Jordan Henderson, Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane and Diogo Jota
Stadium: Brentford Community Stadium
Goals: Ethan Pinnock (1-0, min. 27), Diogo Jota (1-1, min. 31), Mohamed Salah (1-2, min. 54), Vitaly Janelt (2-2, min. 63), Curtis Jones (2-3, min. 67) and Yoane Wissa (3-3, min. 82)