Arsenal 3 – Spurs 1: The Gunners triumph over The Lilywhites at Emirates Stadium

Arsenal 3-1 Tottenham Hotspur

Photo Credit: AP

Tottenham Hotspur fell to an away defeat at the hands of Arsenal at Emirates Stadium on Sunday. Arsenal were looking to pick up points after winning their previous two games against Burnley away and Norwich City at home, by 1-0 and 1-0 respectively. Spurs, on the other hand, lost 3-0 in the last match they played against Chelsea. At the moment, both teams are on 9 points and occupy 10th and 11th places respectively after 6 matches.

The Gunners started the first half well, with Emile Smith-Rowe finding the net, at 12 minutes. The momentum was now with Arsenal, who then scored again through a goal from Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang at the 27 minute mark to establish a 2-0. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from Bukayo Saka at the 34 minute mark, finishing the first half 3-0.

The Lilywhites took the lead in the second half, thanks to a goal from Heung Min Son in the 79th minute. The final result, Arsenal 3, Spurs 1.

Arsenal brought on Albert Sambi Lokonga, Ainsley Maitland-Niles and Nuno Tavares for Granit Xhaka, Bukayo Saka and Emile Smith-Rowe. Spurs brought on Oliver Skipp, Emerson and Bryan Salvatierra, to replace Dele Alli, Japhet Tanganga and Tanguy Ndombele.

There were bookings for Martin Odegaard and Albert Sambi Lokonga from Arsenal. For Spurs, Oliver Skipp saw yellow.

Arsenal will play their next fixture away against Brighton & Hove Albion, while Spurs will face Aston Villa at home.

Technical card:
Arsenal: Aaron Ramsdale, Takehiro Tomiyasu, Ben White, Gabriel Magalhaes, Kieran Tierney, Emile Smith-Rowe (Nuno Tavares, min.88), Thomas Partey, Martin Odegaard, Granit Xhaka (Albert Sambi Lokonga, min.81), Bukayo Saka (Ainsley Maitland-Niles, min.87) and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang
Tottenham Hotspur: Hugo Lloris, Japhet Tanganga (Emerson, min.46), Davinson Sanchez, Eric Dier, Sergio Reguilon, Tanguy Ndombele (Bryan Salvatierra, min.70), Pierre Hojbjerg, Dele Alli (Oliver Skipp, min.46), Lucas Moura, Harry Kane and Heung Min Son
Stadium: Emirates Stadium
Goals: Emile Smith-Rowe (1-0, min. 12), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (2-0, min. 27), Bukayo Saka (3-0, min. 34) and Heung Min Son (3-1, min. 79)