Sassuolo 2-2 Roma – Roma drop points against Sassuolo 2-2 at the MAPEI Stadium

Photo Credit: AP

Sassuolo were held to 2-2 draw by Roma down on Saturday at the MAPEI Stadium. With each team arriving on the back of a league defeat, they were both keen to pick up points. Sassuolo were looking to get back winning ways after losing their last game 3-2 to Torino while Roma were beaten 2-0 in the previous match against Napoli. As things stand, Sassuolo are 9th with 40 points from 29 matches, while Roma sit in 7th, with 51 points from 29.

Roma started strongly in the first half, with Lorenzo Pellegrini giving Roma the lead, 26 minutes in, finalising the first half 0-1.

Sassuolo took the initiative in the second half, thanks to Hamed Junior Traore finding the net at the 57 minute mark. However, each side looked hungry to win and Roma then found the back of the net, on 69 minutes thanks to Bruno Peres, taking the score to 2-1. In the end though, their celebrations were kept brief, as Giacomo Raspadori equalised for Sassuolo just before the final whistle and seeing the game end 2-2.

For Sassuolo, Lukas Haraslin, Brian Oddei and Federico Peluso, came on for Jeremy Toljan, Filip Djuricic and Vlad Chiriches. Roma brought on Jordan Veretout and Edin Dzeko, to replace Stephan El Shaarawy and Borja Mayoral.

There were bookings for Filip Djuricic, Rogerio, Lukas Haraslin and Stefano Turati from Sassuolo, and Amadou Diawara, Lorenzo Pellegrini and Bryan Cristante, for Roma.

Sassuolo will next play Benevento away, with Roma facing Bologna at home.

Technical card:
Sassuolo: Andrea Consigli, Rogerio, Vlad Chiriches (Federico Peluso, min.85), Marlon, Jeremy Toljan (Lukas Haraslin, min.77), Jeremie Boga, Maxime Lopez, Pedro Obiang, Filip Djuricic (Brian Oddei, min.84), Hamed Junior Traore, Giacomo Raspadori and Stefano Turati
Roma: Pau Lopez, Rick Karsdorp, Bryan Cristante, Gianluca Mancini, Bruno Peres, Lorenzo Pellegrini, Amadou Diawara, Leonardo Spinazzola, Borja Mayoral (Edin Dzeko, min.83), Stephan El Shaarawy (Jordan Veretout, min.74) and Carles Perez
Stadium: the MAPEI Stadium
Goals: Lorenzo Pellegrini (0-1, min. 26), Hamed Junior Traore (1-1, min. 57), Bruno Peres (1-2, min. 69) and Giacomo Raspadori (2-2, min. 85)