Revs 3 – D.C. 2- Revs take all 3 points at Gillette Stadium

Photo Credit: AP

New England Revolution’s 3-2 win over D.C. United on Thursday, was hard fought at Gillette Stadium. Following today’s result, Revs and D.C. currently occupy 1st and 6th spots in the league, with 46 points and 27 points respectively after 26 matches.

D.C. started strongly in the first half, with a goal from Arriola, 10 minutes in to see out the first half 0-1.

Revs started the second half with an intensified spirit, thanks to an early goal from Mcnamara in the 49th minute. Revs looked to have the game under control when they scored again and incerased their lead, thanks to a goal from Buchanan, 53 minutes in to establish a 2-1. Revs looked to have the game under control when they scored again, thanks to a goal from Dejuan Jones at the 85 minute mark to establish a 3-1. Black-and-Red in turn, then responded just before the final whistle increasing their lead with an effort from Ábila and seeing the game end 3-2.

For Revs, Buksa, Boateng, Buchanan, Caldwell and Mafla, came on for Kaptoum, Bunbury, Maciel, Bou and Boateng. D.C. brought on Reyna, Ábila, Julian Gressel and Kamara, to replace Arriola, Griffin Yow, Flores and Asad.

The referee booked six players. Traustason, Kaptoum and De La Garza from Revs, who saw yellow cards and Traustason (2 yellow cards), sent off with a red, as well as for D.C. Asad and Birnbaum received yellows.

Technical card:
New England Revolution: Turner, Henry Kessler, Farrell, Dejuan Jones, De La Garza, Maciel (Buchanan, min.46), Kaptoum (Buksa, min.46), Mcnamara, Traustason, Bou (Caldwell, min.76) and Bunbury (Boateng, min.46)
D.C. United: Kempin, Brillant, Chris Odoi-Atsem, Birnbaum, Flores (Julian Gressel, min.67), Felipe Martins, Mora, Skundrich, Asad (Kamara, min.77), Griffin Yow (Ábila, min.67) and Arriola (Reyna, min.14)
Stadium: Gillette Stadium
Goals: Arriola (0-1, min. 10), Mcnamara (1-1, min. 49), Buchanan (2-1, min. 53), Dejuan Jones (3-1, min. 85) and Ábila (3-2, min. 90)

*All photo credit on the site belongs to ap*