Genoa 2-2 Benevento: Points shared, as The Griffin play out a 2-2 draw at the Stadio Luigi Ferraris

Photo Credit: AP

On Wednesday, Genoa and Benevento were held to a 2-2 draw at the Stadio Luigi Ferraris. With each team arriving on the back of a league defeat, they were both keen to pick up points. Genoa were looking forward to meeting again, following a previous defeat to AC Milan. Benevento, on the other hand, were beaten 5-3 in the previous match against Lazio. As it stands, Genoa are in 14th place, with 33 points from 32 matches, while Benevento sit in 17th, with 31 points from 32.

Benevento started the game well, thanks to an early penalty goal from Nicolas Viola in the 5th minute. However, the good form didn’t last for long, as an equalizer from Goran Pandev in the 11th minute, brought Genoa level. However, each side looked hungry to win and Benevento then found the back of the net, 15 minutes in thanks to Gianluca Lapadula, taking the score to 2-1. However, their celebrations were kept brief, as Goran Pandev equalised for The Griffin in the 21st minute, finalising the first half 2-2. With both teams struggling to produce anything meaningful in the second half though, the game ended 2-2.

For Genoa, Eldor Shomurodov, Marko Pjaca, Valon Behrami and Edoardo Goldaniga, came on for Alessandro Tuia, Artur Ionita, Adolfo Gaich, Nicolas Viola and Gianluca Lapadula. Benevento brought on Luca Caldirola, Bryan Dabo, Roberto Insigne, Pasquale Schiattarella and Giuseppe Di Serio, to replace Alessandro Tuia, Artur Ionita, Adolfo Gaich, Nicolas Viola and Gianluca Lapadula.

The referee booked Ivan Radovanovic and Kevin Strootman for Genoa.

Benevento and Genoa will next play at home to Udinese and Spezia Calcio respectively.

Technical card:
Genoa: Lorenzo Montipo, Alessandro Tuia, Federico Barba, Kamil Glik, Fabio Depaoli, Artur Ionita, Nicolas Viola, Perparim Hetemaj, Riccardo Improta, Gianluca Lapadula and Adolfo Gaich
Benevento: Mattia Perin, Davide Biraschi, Andrea Masiello, Ivan Radovanovic, Davide Zappacosta, Miha Zajc, Milan Badelj, Kevin Strootman, Domenico Criscito, Mattia Destro and Goran Pandev
Stadium: the Stadio Luigi Ferraris
Goals: Nicolas Viola (0-1, min. 5), Goran Pandev (1-1, min. 11), Gianluca Lapadula (1-2, min. 15) and Goran Pandev (2-2, min. 21)
*The credit for all of photos in this article belongs to AP*