Fiorentina 2-3 Atalanta: Fiorentina succumb to Atalanta with 3-2 defeat at Stadio Artemio Franchi

Photo Credit: AP

Atalanta enjoyed a mesmerising away victory against Fiorentina at Stadio Artemio Franchi on Sunday. Fiorentina arrived with the intention of increasing their league score following a disappointing 1-1 draw with Genoa in their previous game whilst Atalanta were hoping to increase their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Udinese and Hellas Verona. After today’s result, Fiorentina are in 15th place, with 30 points from 30 matches, while Atalanta sit in 5th, with 58 points from 30.

Atalanta started strongly in the first half, with Duvan Zapata finding the net at the 13 minute mark. Atalanta then netted once more and increased their lead thanks to a 2nd effort from Duvan Zapata just before half-time, finalising the first half 0-2.

The Purples took the lead in the second half, with a goal from Dusan Vlahovic in the 57th minute. Fiorentina looked to have the game under control when they scored again and incerased their lead, thanks to a second effort from Dusan Vlahovic, 66 minutes in to establish a 2-2. In the end though, Atalanta in the 70th minute took the victory thanks to a Josip Ilicic goal and seeing the game end 3-2.

For Fiorentina, Valentin Eysseric, Borja Valero, Lorenzo Venuti and Jose Callejon, came on for Gaetano Castrovilli, Sofyan Amrabat, Lucas Martinez Quarta and Giacomo Bonaventura. Atalanta brought on Berat Djimsiti, Joakim Maehle, Josip Ilicic and Aleksey Miranchuk, to replace Cristian Romero, Luis Muriel, Ruslan Malinovskyi and Duvan Zapata.

There were bookings for German Pezzella, Sofyan Amrabat and Nikola Milenkovic from Fiorentina, and Cristian Romero, for Atalanta.

Fiorentina will next travel to Sassuolo, while Atalanta will face Juventus at home.

Technical card:
Fiorentina: Pierluigi Gollini, Cristian Romero, Rafael Toloi, Jose Luis Palomino, Ruslan Malinovskyi, Remo Freuler, Marten De Roon, Robin Gosens, Luis Muriel, Mario Pasalic and Duvan Zapata
Atalanta: Bartlomiej Dragowski, Nikola Milenkovic, German Pezzella, Lucas Martinez Quarta, Martin Caceres, Sofyan Amrabat, Giacomo Bonaventura, Gaetano Castrovilli, Cristiano Biraghi, Christian Kouame and Dusan Vlahovic
Stadium: Stadio Artemio Franchi
Goals: Duvan Zapata (0-1, min. 13), Duvan Zapata (0-2, min. 40), Dusan Vlahovic (1-2, min. 57), Dusan Vlahovic (2-2, min. 66) and Josip Ilicic (2-3, min. 70)