Middlesbrough 2-1 Huddersfield Town: Visitors leave with nothing as Middlesbrough see off Huddersfield Town in 2-1 victory

Photo Credit: AP

Technical card:
Middlesbrough: Marcus Bettinelli, Neeskens Kebano (George Saville, min.79), Marc Bola, Sam Morsy, Paddy McNair, Duncan Watmore (Marvin Johnson, min.86), Jonny Howson, Grant Hall, Darnell Fisher (Djed Spence, min.79), Anfernee Dijksteel and Ashley Fletcher (Chuba Akpom, min.86)
Huddersfield Town: Pipa, Isaac Mbenza (Alex Vallejo, min.30), Jonathan Hogg, Naby Sarr, Fraizer Campbell, Ryan Schofield, Richard Keogh (Matty Daly, min.85), Alex Pritchard (Aaron Rowe, min.46), Duane Holmes (Kieran Phillips, min.56), Lewis O’Brien and Juninho Bacuna
Stadium: the Riverside Stadium
Goals: Isaac Mbenza (0-1, min. 9), Duncan Watmore (1-1, min. 31) and Ashley Fletcher (2-1, min. 45)

Huddersfield Town on away loss to Middlesbrough at the Riverside Stadium on Tuesday. Both Middlesbrough and Huddersfield Town came from defeats in their previous league games. Middlesbrough were looking to get back winning ways, following a previous defeat to Derby County. Huddersfield Town, on the other hand, were beaten 3-2 in the previous match against Wycombe Wanderers. As the table looks today, Middlesbrough are in 7th place, with 43 points from 30 matches, while Huddersfield Town sit in 19th, with 33 points from 30.

Huddersfield Town started strongly in the first half, thanks to a goal from Isaac Mbenza, 9 minutes in. However, they didn’t maintain the lead for long though, an equalizer from a goal from Duncan Watmore in the 31st minute brought Middlesbrough level. Later, Middlesbrough scored again and turned the match thanks to a penalty goal from Ashley Fletcher in the 45th minute just before half-time. The first half ended 2-1. With both teams struggling to produce anything meaningful in the second half though, the game ended 2-1.

For Middlesbrough Djed Spence, George Saville, Marvin Johnson and Chuba Akpom came on for Darnell Fisher, Neeskens Kebano, Duncan Watmore and Ashley Fletcher, while Huddersfield Town brought on Alex Vallejo, Aaron Rowe, Kieran Phillips and Matty Daly to replace Isaac Mbenza, Alex Pritchard, Duane Holmes and Richard Keogh.

The referee booked three players. Sam Morsy from Middlesbrough saw yellow cards and Paddy McNair sent off with a red, as well as for Huddersfield Town Lewis O’Brien received yellows.

Middlesbrough will play their next fixture away against Reading, while Huddersfield Town will face Swansea City at home.

*The credit for all of photos in this article belongs to AP*