Middlesbrough 1-1 Cardiff City – Middlesbrough fail to take all 3 points, after 1-1 draw with Cardiff City

Photo Credit: AP

Technical card:
Middlesbrough: Britt Assombalonga (Chuba Akpom, min.81), Paddy McNair, Marcus Bettinelli, Marcus Tavernier, Nathaniel Mendez Laing (Neeskens Kebano, min.71), Duncan Watmore (Djed Spence, min.81), Jonny Howson, Grant Hall, Dael Fry, Anfernee Dijksteel and Marc Bola (Marvin Johnson, min.71)
Cardiff City: Joe Bennett, Dillon Phillips, Kieffer Moore, Harry Wilson (Leandro Bacuna, min.67), Will Vaulks (Joe Ralls, min.67), Aden Flint, Marlon Pack, Perry Ng, Curtis Nelson, Josh Murphy (Sheyi Ojo, min.61) and Sean Morrison
Stadium: the Riverside Stadium
Goals: Sean Morrison (0-1, min. 37) and Paddy McNair (1-1, min. 82)

On Saturday, Middlesbrough and Cardiff City were held to a 1-1 draw at the Riverside Stadium. Middlesbrough arrived at the game looking pick up points, following a previous defeat to Bristol City whilst Cardiff City were coming from consecutive wins against Bournemouth and Preston North End. As the table looks today, Middlesbrough are in 9th place, with 47 points from 33 matches, while Cardiff City sit in 8th, with 50 points from 33.

Cardiff City started the game well, thanks to Sean Morrison opening the scoring in the 37th minute, to take a 1-0 lead into half time.

Middlesbrough took the initiative in the second half, following a goal from Paddy McNair in minute 82, levelled the score at 1-1 draw.

For Middlesbrough, Marvin Johnson, Neeskens Kebano, Chuba Akpom and Djed Spence came on for Josh Murphy, Will Vaulks and Harry Wilson, and Cardiff brought on Sheyi Ojo, Joe Ralls and Leandro Bacuna for Josh Murphy, Will Vaulks and Harry Wilson.

The referee booked Will Vaulks, Joe Bennett and Perry Ng for Cardiff City.

Middlesbrough will next travel to Coventry City, while Cardiff City will face Derby County at home.

*The credit for all of photos in this article belongs to AP*