Man City 0 – Chelsea 1: The Pensioners bring home Champions League trophy

Photo Credit: AP

A terrific win and a terrific achievement for The Pensioners, who rightfully can call themselves champions after this result. There are no easy teams at this stage of the competition, so they are worthy of the accolade. Both sides arrived on the back of wins. Man City were looking to continue their run after winning their previous two matches in the league. The most recent was against the Paris Saint-Germain at home (2-0), the other to Paris Saint-Germain away (2-1). Chelsea were able to continue their winning streak after a 2-0 win against R Madrid in their last match. The Skyblues, however, know that they have missed a chance at glory. Losing in a final is never easy. This is especially true when it is on such a grand stage. They will re-group for sure, and they will be back.

Chelsea found the net first, thanks to Kai Havertz giving The Blues the lead just before half-time. The score at half time was 0-1. With both teams struggling to produce anything meaningful in the second half though, the game ended 1-0.

Man City brought on Gabriel Jesus, Fernandinho and Sergio Aguero for Kevin De Bruyne, Bernardo Silva and Raheem Sterling. Chelsea brought on Andreas Christensen, Christian Pulisic and Mateo Kovacic, to replace Thiago Silva, Timo Werner and Mason Mount.

There were bookings for Ilkay Gundogan and Gabriel Jesus from Man City. For Chelsea, Antonio Rudiger saw yellow.

The two teams were worthy finalists and we congratulate both for giving us such a fantastic festival of football. We now draw the competition to a close and look forward to the next one.

Technical card:
Manchester City: Ederson, Kyle Walker, Ruben Dias, John Stones, Olexandr Zinchenko, Bernardo Silva (Fernandinho, min.64), Kevin De Bruyne (Gabriel Jesus, min.60), Ilkay Gundogan, Phil Foden, Raheem Sterling (Sergio Aguero, min.77) and Riyad Mahrez
Chelsea: Edouard Mendy, Reece James, Cesar Azpilicueta, Thiago Silva (Andreas Christensen, min.39), Antonio Rudiger, Benjamin Chilwell, Kai Havertz, Mason Mount (Mateo Kovacic, min.80), N`Golo Kante, Jorginho and Timo Werner (Christian Pulisic, min.66)
Stadium: the Estadio Do Dragao
Goals: Kai Havertz (0-1, min. 42)