Victory beyond reach for AS Saint-Étienne, as they only manage a 1-1 draw with FC Nantes

Technical card:
AS Saint-Étienne: Jessy Moulin, Mathieu Debuchy (Lucas Gourna-Douath, min.27), Pape Abou Cisse, Harold Moukoudi, Miguel Trauco, Denis Bouanga, Mahdi Camara, Yvan Neyou, Adil Aouchiche (Romain Hamouma, min.46), Charles Abi (Anthony Modeste, min.46) and Arnaud Nordin (Wahbi Khazri, min.74)
FC Nantes: Alban Lafont, Sebastien Corchia, Fabio, Jean-Charles Castelletto, Charles Traore, Imran Louza, Pedro Chirivella (Abdoulaye Toure, min.90), Andrei, Ludovic Blas, Moses Simon (Kalifa Coulibaly, min.80) and Randal Kolo Muani
Stadium: Stade Geoffroy Guichard
Goals: Randal Kolo Muani (0-1, min. 36) and Mahdi Camara (1-1, min. 57)

On Wednesday, AS Saint-Étienne and FC Nantes were held to a 1-1 draw at Stade Geoffroy Guichard. AS Saint-Étienne were keen to hang onto their position at the top of league and extend their winning run, following a 1-0 victory against OGC Nice. FC Nantes lost 2-1 in the last match they played against AS Monaco. At the moment, AS Saint-Étienne are in 16th place on the table and has 23 points while FC Nantes sit in 17th with 19 points after 23 matches.

The first half of the game started favourably for FC Nantes, thanks to Randal Kolo Muani opening the scoring in the 36th minute and managed to see out the first half 1-0.

AS Saint-Étienne took the initiative in the second half, following Mahdi Camara opening the scoring in the 57th minute. The game ended a 1-1 draw.

Both managers used all available substitutions. For Saint-Étienne, Lucas Gourna-Douath, Romain Hamouma, Anthony Modeste and Wahbi Khazri came on for Mathieu Debuchy, Adil Aouchiche, Charles Abi and Arnaud Nordin, while Nantes brought on Kalifa Coulibaly and Abdoulaye Toure to replace Moses Simon and Pedro Chirivella.

There were bookings for Pape Abou Cisse, Wahbi Khazri and Denis Bouanga from Saint-Étienne and Andrei for Nantes.

FC Nantes and AS Saint-Étienne will next play at home to Lille OSC and FC Metz respectively.

*The credit for all of photos in this article belongs to AP*