Strasburg 1-0 Monaco – Visitors fail to take points as Strasburg beat Monaco 1-0

Technical card:
Strasburg: Eiji Kawashima, Frederic Guilbert, Stefan Mitrovic, Alexander Djiku (Jeanricner Bellegarde, min.78), Anthony Caci, Dimitri Lienard, Adrien Thomasson, Lamine Kone, Lionel Carole, Habib Diallo (Mahame Siby, min.90) and Ludovic Ajorque
Monaco: Benjamin Lecomte, Djibril Sidibe, Benoit Badiashile, Guillermo Maripan, Ruben Aguilar (Sofiane Diop, min.61), Youssouf Fofana (Stevan Jovetic, min.61), Aurelien Tchouameni, Caio Henrique (Fode Toure, min.85), Aleksandr Golovin (Krepin Diatta, min.73), Kevin Volland (Cesc Fabregas, min.60) and Wissam Ben Yedder
Stadium: the Stade de La Meinau
Goals: Frederic Guilbert (1-0, min. 90)

Strasburg enjoyed a mesmerising home victory against Monaco at the Stade de La Meinau on Wednesday. Strasburg wanted to improve their league standing following a disappointing 1-1 draw with Lille in their previous game. Monaco were hoping to increase their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Brest and PSG. Following today’s result, Strasburg are in 14th place on the table and has 33 points while Monaco sit in 4th with 55 points after 28 matches.

After a goalless first half, Strasburg continued to pile on the pressure the second half and were rewarded, thanks to Frederic Guilbert opening the scoring just before the final whistle, sealing a resounding 1-0 victory for the home side.

For Strasburg Jeanricner Bellegarde and Mahame Siby came on for Alexander Djiku and Habib Diallo, while Monaco brought on Cesc Fabregas, Stevan Jovetic, Sofiane Diop, Krepin Diatta and Fode Toure to replace Kevin Volland, Youssouf Fofana, Ruben Aguilar, Aleksandr Golovin and Caio Henrique.

The referee booked Dimitri Lienard, Ludovic Ajorque and Adrien Thomasson for Strasburg.

Strasburg will play their next fixture away against Rennes, while Monaco will face Lille at home.