ASSE 1 – Lyon 1: Victory elusive at the Stade Geoffroy Guichard for both sides

Photo Credit: AP

ASSE were held to 1-1 draw by Lyon down on Sunday at the Stade Geoffroy Guichard. ASSE arrived at the game looking pick up points, following a previous defeat to Nice while Lyon had managed to pick up a single point in their encounter with FC Lorient. As the table looks today, ASSE and Lyon currently occupy 20th and 11th spots in the league, with 3 points and 12 points respectively after 9 matches.

Lyon started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, thanks to a goal from Houssem Aouar just before half-time, finishing the first half 0-1.

ASSE took the lead in the second half, with a goal from Wahbi Khazri just before the final whistle. The game ended wih a 1-1 draw.

For ASSE, Lucas Gourna-Douath, Romain Hamouma, Adil Aouchiche and Jean-Philippe Krasso, came on for Arnaud Nordin, Yvan Neyou, Ryad Boudebouz and Denis Bouanga. Lyon brought on Jason Denayer, Julian Pollersbeck, Malo Gusto and Thiago Mendes, to replace Jerome Boateng, Xherdan Shaqiri, Houssem Aouar and Bruno Guimaraes.

The referee booked Arnaud Nordin and Mahdi Camara from ASSE. Lyon had the worst of it though, with Leo Dubois, Karl Toko Ekambi and Jason Denayer seeing yellow, and Anthony Lopes then sent off with a red.

ASSE will next travel to RC Strasburg, while Lyon will face AS Mónaco at home.

Technical card:
Saint-Étienne: Etienne Green, Harold Moukoudi, Zaydou Youssouf, Kolo, Miguel Trauco, Denis Bouanga (Jean-Philippe Krasso, min.89), Yvan Neyou (Romain Hamouma, min.65), Mahdi Camara, Arnaud Nordin (Lucas Gourna-Douath, min.65), Wahbi Khazri and Ryad Boudebouz (Adil Aouchiche, min.78)
Lyon: Anthony Lopes, Leo Dubois, Jerome Boateng (Jason Denayer, min.68), Sinaly Diomande, Henrique Silva, Maxence Caqueret, Bruno Guimaraes (Thiago Mendes, min.88), Houssem Aouar (Malo Gusto, min.88), Karl Toko Ekambi, Lucas Paqueta and Xherdan Shaqiri (Julian Pollersbeck, min.76)
Stadium: the Stade Geoffroy Guichard
Goals: Houssem Aouar (0-1, min. 42) and Wahbi Khazri (1-1, min. 90)