Rennes 0-2 St Etienne – Rennes beaten 2-0 at home by St Etienne

Photo Credit: AP

Technical card:
Rennes: Alfred Gomis, Hamari Traore, Damien Da Silva, Nayef Aguerd, Adrien Truffert (Faitout Maouassa, min.78), Eduardo Camavinga (Yann Gboho, min.58), Jonas Martin (Steven Nzonzi, min.58), Benjamin Bourigeaud, Martin Terrier (Adrien Hunou, min.58), Sehrou Guirassy and Jeremy Doku
St Etienne: Jessy Moulin, Mathieu Debuchy, Harold Moukoudi, Pape Abou Cisse, Miguel Trauco, Mahdi Camara, Yvan Neyou (Zaydou Youssouf, min.68), Adil Aouchiche (Arnaud Nordin, min.57), Lucas Gourna-Douath, Denis Bouanga (Aimen Moueffek, min.90) and Wahbi Khazri (Charles Abi, min.68)
Stadium: the Roazhon Park
Goals: Denis Bouanga (0-1, min. 27) and Arnaud Nordin (0-2, min. 71)

Rennes fell to a home defeat at the hands of St Etienne at the Roazhon Park on Sunday. Rennes were looking for a victory following a disappointing 0-0 draw with Lens in their previous game. St Etienne were coming from a 1-0 win against Metz. As the table looks today, Rennes are in 5th place, with 38 points from 25 matches, while St Etienne sit in 15th, with 29 points from 25.

St Etienne started strong and were rewarded, beginning with a goal from Denis Bouanga in the 27th minute. The score at half time was 1-0.

St Etienne continued to pile on the pressure the second half and were rewarded, following Arnaud Nordin opening the scoring in the 71st minute, sealing a resounding 2-0 victory for the away side.

For Rennes Steven Nzonzi, Yann Gboho, Adrien Hunou and Faitout Maouassa came on for Jonas Martin, Eduardo Camavinga, Martin Terrier and Adrien Truffert, while St Etienne brought on Arnaud Nordin, Charles Abi, Zaydou Youssouf and Aimen Moueffek to replace Adil Aouchiche, Wahbi Khazri, Yvan Neyou and Denis Bouanga.

There were bookings for Jeremy Doku, Damien Da Silva, Sehrou Guirassy, Nayef Aguerd and Hamari Traore from Rennes and Mathieu Debuchy and Charles Abi for St Etienne.

Rennes will next play Montpellier away, with St Etienne facing Reims at home.

*The credit for all of photos in this article belongs to AP*