RCSA 1 – Lille 2- Les Dogues travel to the Stade de La Meinau and seal win

Photo Credit: AP

Lille’s 2-1 win over RC Strasburg on Saturday, was hard fought at the Stade de La Meinau. Both sides arrived on the back of wins. RCSA were keen to hang onto their position at the top of league and extend their winning run after winning their previous two games against RC Lens away and FC Metz at home, by 1-0 and 3-0 respectively. Lille were coming off the back of a 2-1 win against Reims. Following today’s result, RCSA are in 10th place, with 10 points from 8 matches, while Lille sit in 8th, with 11 points from 8.

Lille started the first half well, with Jonathan David finding the net, at 23 minutes, to take a 0-1 lead into half time.

Les Dogues continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, thanks to Jonathan David finding the net again in the 57th minute. RCSA in turn, then responded, 75 minutes in increasing their lead with an effort from Ibrahima Sissoko so at full time it was 2-1 to Lille.

For RCSA, Frederic Guilbert, Ibrahima Sissoko, Ludovic Ajorque and Majeed Waris, came on for Alexander Djiku, Jean-Eudes Aholou, Kevin Gameiro and Dimitri Lienard. Lille brought on Gabriel Gudmundsson, Tiago Djalo, Yusuf Yazici and Amadou Mvom Onana, to replace Angel Gomes, Zeki Celik, Jonathan Ikone and Jonathan David.

The referee booked nine players. Habib Diallo, Alexander Djiku, Maxime Le Marchand and Ludovic Ajorque from RCSA, who saw yellow cards and Adrien Thomasson, sent off with a red, as well as for Lille Ivo Grbic, Tiago Djalo, Xeka and Reinildo Mandava received yellows.

RCSA will play their next game away against Montpellier, while Lille will face Olympique de Marseille at home.

Technical card:
RC Strasburg: Matz Sels, Dimitri Lienard (Majeed Waris, min.82), Gerzino Nyamsi, Maxime Le Marchand, Alexander Djiku (Frederic Guilbert, min.58), Anthony Caci, Jean-Eudes Aholou (Ibrahima Sissoko, min.58), Adrien Thomasson, Jeanricner Bellegarde, Habib Diallo and Kevin Gameiro (Ludovic Ajorque, min.59)
Lille: Ivo Grbic, Zeki Celik (Tiago Djalo, min.63), Botman Sven, Jose Fonte, Reinildo Mandava, Tim Weah, Benjamin Andre, Xeka, Angel Gomes (Gabriel Gudmundsson, min.62), Jonathan David (Amadou Mvom Onana, min.82) and Jonathan Ikone (Yusuf Yazici, min.74)
Stadium: the Stade de La Meinau
Goals: Jonathan David (0-1, min. 23), Jonathan David (0-2, min. 57) and Ibrahima Sissoko (1-2, min. 75)