Montpellier 1 – RCSA 1: La Paillade denied all 3 points at the Stade de la Mosson

Photo Credit: AP

On Saturday, Montpellier and RCSA were held to a 1-1 draw at the Stade de la Mosson. With each team arriving on the back of a league defeat, they were both keen to pick up points. Montpellier were looking to get back their winning ways after losing their last game 2-0 to Paris Saint-Germain whilst RCSA were beaten 2-1 in the previous match against Lille. As it stands, Montpellier are in 12th place, with 10 points from 9 matches, while RCSA sit in 9th, with 11 points from 9.

Montpellier started the game well, with Florent Mollet finding the net, 12 minutes in. However, their lead was short lived, as Kevin Gameiro equalised for RCSA at the 28 minute mark, to take a 1-1 lead into half time. Both teams struggled to produce anything meaningful in the second half, leaving the final score at 1-1.

For Montpellier, Beni Makouana, Leo Leroy, Nicholas Gioacchini and Mihailo Ristic, came on for Teji Savanier, Jordan Ferri, Stephy Mavididi and Nicolas Cozza. RCSA replaced Ludovic Ajorque, Ibrahima Sissoko, Sanjin Prcic, Jeanricner Bellegarde and Kevin Gameiro for Habib Diallo, Jean-Eudes Aholou, Dimitri Lienard, Lucas Perrin and Majeed Waris.

The referee booked Florent Mollet and Mamadou Sakho for Montpellier.

Montpellier next face RC Lens and RCSA are at home to Saint-Étienne.

Technical card:
Montpellier: Jonas Omlin, Arnaud Souquet, Nicolas Cozza (Mihailo Ristic, min.89), Maxime Esteve, Mamadou Sakho, Florent Mollet, Teji Savanier (Beni Makouana, min.83), Jordan Ferri (Leo Leroy, min.83), Joris Chotard, Stephy Mavididi (Nicholas Gioacchini, min.88) and Valere Germain
RC Strasburg: Matz Sels, Frederic Guilbert, Maxime Le Marchand, Gerzino Nyamsi, Alexander Djiku, Anthony Caci, Sanjin Prcic (Dimitri Lienard, min.68), Jeanricner Bellegarde (Lucas Perrin, min.84), Ibrahima Sissoko (Jean-Eudes Aholou, min.68), Kevin Gameiro (Majeed Waris, min.89) and Ludovic Ajorque (Habib Diallo, min.67)
Stadium: the Stade de la Mosson
Goals: Florent Mollet (1-0, min. 12) and Kevin Gameiro (1-1, min. 28)