Metz 4 – Lorient 1: The Maroons blaze past The Merlucciidaes at the Stade Saint Symphorien

Photo Credit: AP

FC Metz ease to a comfortable 4-1 win at the Stade Saint Symphorien. Both Metz and Lorient came from defeats in their previous league games. Metz were hoping to get something from this game after losing 4-0 to AS Mónaco in their previous fixture. Lorient were beaten 1-0 in the previous match against Nantes. As the table looks today, both teams are on 15 points and sit in 18th and 19th places respectively after 18 matches.

Metz didn’t take long to get on the score-sheet, with an early goal from Pape Matar Sarr in the 5th minute. Metz looked to have the game under control when they scored again and incerased their lead, thanks to a goal from Moritz Jenz at the 9 minute mark to establish a 2-0. However they weren’t finished yet and Farid Boulaya made it 3-0 in the 19th minute, finishing the first half 3-0.

Lorient took the lead in the second half, with Moritz Jenz finding the net, at 69 minutes. In the end though, The Maroons secured the points emphatically, with a goal from Ibrahima Niane at the 80 minute mark. When the final wisthle blew, the result was 4-1 to Metz.

For Metz, Ibrahima Niane, Amadou Mbengue, Sofiane Alakouch and Warren Tchimbembe, came on for Nicolas De Preville, Habib Maiga, Opa Nguette and Farid Boulaya. Lorient brought on Adrian Grbic, Armand Lauriente, Thomas Monconduit and Quentin Boisgard, to replace Julien Laporte, Laurent Abergel, Dango Ouattara and Stephane Diarra.

There were bookings for Vincent Pajot and Pape Matar Sarr from Metz. For Lorient, Laurent Abergel and Julien Laporte saw yellow.

Metz will next travel to Lyon, while Lorient will face Paris Saint-Germain at home.

Technical card:
FC Metz: Marc-Aurele Caillard, Dylan Bronn, Habib Maiga (Amadou Mbengue, min.79), Kiki, Fabien Centtonze, Pape Matar Sarr, Vincent Pajot, Thomas Delaine, Farid Boulaya (Warren Tchimbembe, min.84), Opa Nguette (Sofiane Alakouch, min.84) and Nicolas De Preville (Ibrahima Niane, min.71)
FC Lorient: Paul Nardi, Moritz Jenz, Houboulang Mendes, Julien Laporte (Adrian Grbic, min.57), Igor Silva, Stephane Diarra (Quentin Boisgard, min.81), Laurent Abergel (Armand Lauriente, min.58), Enzo Le Fee, Vincent Le Goff, Dango Ouattara (Thomas Monconduit, min.58) and Terem Moffi
Stadium: the Stade Saint Symphorien
Goals: Pape Matar Sarr (1-0, min. 5), Moritz Jenz (2-0, min. 9), Farid Boulaya (3-0, min. 19), Moritz Jenz (3-1, min. 69) and Ibrahima Niane (4-1, min. 80)

*All photo credit on the site belongs to ap*