Cleermont 2 – Lens 2: Stalemate at Stade Gabriel Montpied against Blood and Gold

Photo Credit: AP

On Wednesday, Cleermont and Lens were held to a 2-2 draw at Stade Gabriel Montpied. Cleermont were hoping to get something from this game, following a previous defeat to Reims. Lens are struggling for form following a draw in their last match. As the table looks today, Cleermont are in 17th place on the table and has 14 points while Lens sit in 5th with 26 points after 16 matches.

Blood and Gold found the net first, thanks to Johan Gastien finding the net at the 12 minute mark. However, the good fortune didn’t last for long. An equalizer from Yohann Magnin in the 41st minute brought Cleermont level. However, Lens just before half-time reestablished their lead via a Seko Fofana goal. The score at half time was 1-2.

Cleermont took the initiative in the second half, with Mohamed Bayo finding the net, at 65 minutes. The game ended wih a 2-2 draw.

For Cleermont, Yadaly Diaby, Pierre-Yves Hamel and Alidu Seidu, came on for Jim Allevinah, Mohamed Bayo and Jodel Dossou. Lens brought on Gael Kakuta, Ignatius Kpene Ganago, Facundo Medina, David Pereira Da Costa and Corentin Jean, to replace Florian Sotoca, Arnaud Kalimuendo, Massadio Haidara, Yannick Cahuzac and Jonathan Gradit.

The referee booked Johan Gastien, Florent Ogier, Pierre-Yves Hamel and Jodel Dossou from Cleermont and Yadaly Diaby went off with a red card, while Lens’ Kevin Danso, Massadio Haidara, Jonathan Clauss, Przemyslaw Frankowski and Corentin Jean also received a yellow.

Cleermont will play their next fixture away against Montpellier, while Lens will face Paris Saint-Germain at home.

Technical card:
Clermont Foot: Ouparine Djoco, Akim Zedadka, Florent Ogier, Jean-Claude Billong, Vital N’Simba, Jodel Dossou (Alidu Seidu, min.86), Yohann Magnin, Salis Abdul Samed, Johan Gastien, Jim Allevinah (Yadaly Diaby, min.63) and Mohamed Bayo (Pierre-Yves Hamel, min.75)
RC Lens: Jean-Louis Leca, Jonathan Clauss, Kevin Danso, Jonathan Gradit (Corentin Jean, min.89), Massadio Haidara (Facundo Medina, min.79), Cheick Oumar Doucoure, Yannick Cahuzac (David Pereira Da Costa, min.89), Seko Fofana, Przemyslaw Frankowski, Florian Sotoca (Gael Kakuta, min.70) and Arnaud Kalimuendo (Ignatius Kpene Ganago, min.70)
Stadium: Stade Gabriel Montpied
Goals: Johan Gastien (0-1, min. 12), Yohann Magnin (1-1, min. 41), Seko Fofana (1-2, min. 47) and Mohamed Bayo (2-2, min. 65)

*All photo credit on the site belongs to ap*