Brest 1 – Metz 2: The Maroons, fearless, go to the Stade Francis-Le Blé and win

Photo Credit: AP

Brest fell to a home defeat at the hands of FC Metz at the Stade Francis-Le Blé on Sunday. Both teams came from defeats in their previous league games. Brest were hoping to get something from this game, following a previous defeat to Nantes. Metz, on the other hand, were beaten 2-1 in the previous match against Paris Saint-Germain. As the table looks today, Brest and Metz currently occupy 19th and 18th spots in the table, with 4 points and 6 points respectively after 8 matches.

Metz started the game well, thanks to Nicolas De Preville giving The Maroons the lead at the 26 minute mark and managed to see out the first half 0-1.

The Pirates took the lead in the second half, with Romain Faivre finding the net, at 68 minutes. Metz in turn, then responded, 74 minutes in increasing their lead with an effort from Fabien Centtonze, leaving the final score at 2-1.

For Brest, Jean-Kevin Duverne, Irvin Cardona, Jeremy Le Douaron, Julien Faussurier and Youssouph Badji, came on for Jere Uronen, Romain Del Castillo, Romain Faivre, Ronael Pierre-Gabriel and Franck Honorat. Metz brought on Opa Nguette, Farid Boulaya, Boubacar Traore and Warren Tchimbembe, to replace Lamine Gueye, Nicolas De Preville, Pape Matar Sarr and Habib Maiga.

There were bookings for Ronael Pierre-Gabriel, Hianga’a Mbock and Brendan Chardonnet from Brest. For Metz, Kiki and Fabien Centtonze saw yellow.

Metz and Brest will next play away to Angers SCO and Nice respectively.

Technical card:
Brest: Marco Bizot, Ronael Pierre-Gabriel (Julien Faussurier, min.85), Lilian Brassier, Brendan Chardonnet, Jere Uronen (Jean-Kevin Duverne, min.46), Franck Honorat (Youssouph Badji, min.85), Lucien Agoume, Hianga’a Mbock, Romain Faivre (Jeremy Le Douaron, min.69), Romain Del Castillo (Irvin Cardona, min.61) and Steve Mounie
FC Metz: Alexandre Oukidja, Fabien Centtonze, Sikou Niakate, Kiki, Matthieu Udol, Pape Matar Sarr (Boubacar Traore, min.72), Vincent Pajot, Habib Maiga (Warren Tchimbembe, min.89), Ibrahima Niane, Lamine Gueye (Opa Nguette, min.69) and Nicolas De Preville (Farid Boulaya, min.72)
Stadium: the Stade Francis-Le Blé
Goals: Nicolas De Preville (0-1, min. 26), Romain Faivre (1-1, min. 68) and Fabien Centtonze (1-2, min. 74)