Bordeaux – RC Lens: Bordeaux blaze past Lens, scoring 3 at the Matmut Atlantique Stadiums without reply

Home crowd rewarded with a win, as Jean-Louis Gasset’s team triumph over Lens
Bordeaux vs. RC Lens
Edgar Martin

Edgar Martin

The person who keeps us informed about the latest football news from France is Edgar. He lives in Paris, but his favorite team is Lyon.

RC Lens fell to an away defeat at the hands of Bordeaux at the Matmut Atlantique Stadiums on Sunday. With each team arriving on the back of a league defeat, they were both keen to pick up points. Bordeaux were looking forward to meeting again after losing their last game 3-0 to Nantes. Lens were beaten 3-0 in the previous match against Lille. At the moment, Bordeaux and Lens currently occupy 14th and 6th spots in the table, with 42 points and 56 points respectively after 37 matches.

It was an impressive opening from Bordeaux, with Hwang Ui-Jo opening the rout, 32 minutes in to see out the first half 1-0.

Les Girondins continued to pile on the pressure in the second and were rewarded, with Youssouf Sabaly finding the net in the 89th minute. Bordeaux then netted once more and increased their advantage thanks to a goal from Mehdi Zerkane just before the final whistle with a final score of 3-0.

For Bordeaux, Sekou Mara, Issouf Sissokho, Remi Oudin, Jean Seri and Mehdi Zerkane, came on for Hwang Ui-Jo, Yacine Adli, Nicolas De Preville, Tom Lacoux and Maxime Poundje. Lens brought on Arnaud Kalimuendo, Corentin Jean, Cheick Traore, Tony Mauricio and David Da Costa, to replace Simon Banza, Facundo Medina, Ismael Boura, Cheick Oumar Doucoure and Gael Kakuta.

There were bookings for Maxime Poundje and Mehdi Zerkane from Bordeaux. For Lens, Loic Bade and Gael Kakuta saw yellow.

Bordeaux will play away against Reims, while Lens will face AS Mónaco at home.

Technical card:
Bordeaux: Jean-Louis Leca, Jonathan Clauss, Jonathan Gradit, Ismael Boura, Loic Bade, Facundo Medina, Gael Kakuta, Seko Fofana, Cheick Oumar Doucoure, Ignatius Kpene Ganago and Simon Banza
RC Lens: Benoit Costil, Enock Kwateng, Paul Baysse, Loris Benito, Youssouf Sabaly, Maxime Poundje, Tom Lacoux, Yacine Adli, Toma Basic, Hwang Ui-Jo and Nicolas De Preville
Stadium: the Matmut Atlantique Stadiums
Goals: Hwang Ui-Jo (1-0, min. 32), Youssouf Sabaly (2-0, min. 89) and Mehdi Zerkane (3-0, min. 90)

More From 888post