Monaco 0 – Lens 2: The Monégasques suffer home loss to Blood and Gold

AS Mónaco vs. RC Lens

Monaco on home loss to RC Lens at the Stade Louis II on Saturday. Monaco arrived at the game looking pick up points, following a previous defeat to FC Lorient while Lens secured a point against Saint-Étienne in their previous match. As things stand, Monaco are in 17th place on the table and has 1 point while Lens sit in 4th with 5 points after 3 matches.

After an un-eventful first half, Whatever was said in the dressing room at half time, seemed to have a positive effect on Lens who started the second half well, thanks to Ignatius Kpene Ganago giving Blood and Gold the lead at the 51 minute mark. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from Simon Banza just before the final whistle with a final score of 2-0.

For Monaco, Gelson Martins, Kevin Volland, Myron Boadu, Cesc Fabregas and Djibril Sidibe, came on for Aurelien Tchouameni, Wissam Ben Yedder, Krepin Diatta, Sofiane Diop and Ruben Aguilar. Lens brought on Przemyslaw Frankowski, Yannick Cahuzac, Simon Banza, Massadio Haidara and Ismael Boura, to replace Deiver Machado, Ignatius Kpene Ganago, Florian Sotoca, Gael Kakuta and Massadio Haidara.

Monaco and Lens played a tough game where the referee sanctioned Monaco with yellow cards to Strahinja Pavlovic and with red card to Aleksandr Golovin, while from Lens Jean-Louis Leca were booked and red to Cheick Oumar Doucoure.

Monaco will next travel to Troyes, while Lens will face FC Lorient at home.

Technical card:
AS Mónaco: Alexander Nubel, Ruben Aguilar (Djibril Sidibe, min.83), Strahinja Pavlovic, Axel Disasi, Caio Henrique, Krepin Diatta (Myron Boadu, min.64), Aurelien Tchouameni (Gelson Martins, min.63), Jean Lucas, Sofiane Diop (Cesc Fabregas, min.76), Aleksandr Golovin and Wissam Ben Yedder (Kevin Volland, min.63)
RC Lens: Jean-Louis Leca, Facundo Medina, Jonathan Clauss, Kevin Danso, Deiver Machado (Przemyslaw Frankowski, min.46), Jonathan Gradit, Cheick Oumar Doucoure, Seko Fofana, Gael Kakuta (Massadio Haidara, min.76), Florian Sotoca (Simon Banza, min.75) and Ignatius Kpene Ganago (Yannick Cahuzac, min.65)
Stadium: the Stade Louis II
Goals: Ignatius Kpene Ganago (0-1, min. 51) and Simon Banza (0-2, min. 90)