Monaco 0 – Marseille 2: The Phocaeans leave the Stade Louis II with all 3 points

AS Mónaco vs. Olympique de Marseille

Olympique de Marseille’s 2-0 win over AS Mónaco on Saturday, was hard fought at the Stade Louis II. Both Monaco and Marseille arrived in good form, having secured victories in their previous matches. Monaco were looking to pick up points, following a 2-1 victory against Troyes. Marseille were looking to extend their winning run after a 3-1 victory against Saint-Étienne. After today’s result, Monaco are in 14th place, with 4 points from 5 matches, while Marseille sit in 3rd, with 10 points from 5.

Marseille started the first half well, thanks to Bamba Dieng giving The Phocaeans the lead in the 37th minute and the first half ended 0-1.

Marseille continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, with Bamba Dieng finding the net again in the 60th minute, leaving the final score at 2-0.

For Monaco, Ruben Aguilar, Jean Lucas, Myron Boadu, Krepin Diatta and Wilson Isidor, came on for Chrislain Matsima, Gelson Martins, Kevin Volland, Sofiane Diop and Wissam Ben Yedder. Marseille brought on Luis Henrique, Gerson, Konrad De La Fuente and Pape Alassane Gueye, to replace Bamba Dieng, Amine Harit, Cengiz Under and Pol Lirola.

There were bookings for Sofiane Diop, Aurelien Tchouameni, Ruben Aguilar and Youssouf Fofana from Monaco, and Boubacar Kamara, for Marseille.

Monaco will next travel to Nice, while Marseille will face Rennes at home.

Technical card:
AS Mónaco: Alexander Nubel, Axel Disasi, Chrislain Matsima (Ruben Aguilar, min.46), Benoit Badiashile, Caio Henrique, Gelson Martins (Jean Lucas, min.60), Kevin Volland (Myron Boadu, min.61), Youssouf Fofana, Aurelien Tchouameni, Sofiane Diop (Krepin Diatta, min.73) and Wissam Ben Yedder (Wilson Isidor, min.73)
Olympique de Marseille: Pau Lopez, Pol Lirola (Pape Alassane Gueye, min.78), Leonardo Balerdi, William Saliba, Luan Peres, Matteo Guendouzi, Boubacar Kamara, Valentin Rongier, Bamba Dieng (Luis Henrique, min.66), Amine Harit (Gerson, min.72) and Cengiz Under (Konrad De La Fuente, min.78)
Stadium: the Stade Louis II
Goals: Bamba Dieng (0-1, min. 37) and Bamba Dieng (0-2, min. 60)