Sunderland AFC 5 – Cheltenham Town 0: Bad day for visitors at Stadium of Light

Sunderland AFC 5-0 Cheltenham Town

Photo Credit: AP

Sunderland AFC snatched all three points from Cheltenham Town in a 5-0 victory on Tuesday, at Stadium of Light. Sunderland AFC were keen to hang onto their position at the top of league and extend their winning run after winning last match. Cheltenham Town, on the other hand, were beaten 2-0 in the previous match against Wigan Athletic. Following today’s result, Sunderland AFC and Cheltenham Town currently occupy 1st and 16th spots in the table, with 22 points and 12 points respectively after 10 matches.

Sunderland AFC started the first half well, with Bailey Wright opening the rout at the 11 minute mark. The momentum was now with Sunderland AFC, who then scored again through a goal from Ross Stewart, at 28 minutes to establish a 2-0. Sunderland AFC then scored once more and increased their advantage thanks to a second effort from Ross Stewart, 38 minutes in, which saw the first half end 3-0.

Sunderland AFC continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, with Luke O’Nien finding the net after 65 minutes. Sunderland AFC then netted once more and increased their lead thanks to a goal from Leon Dajaku, 66 minutes in to make it 5-0.

Both teams used all available substitutes. For Sunderland AFC, Frederik Alves, Leon Dajaku and Alex Pritchard, came on for Tom Flanagan, Aiden McGeady and Ross Stewart, Cheltenham Town brought on Alfie May, Dylan Barkers and Christian Norton, to replace Matthew Pollock, Taylor Perry and Kyle Joseph.

The referee booked Lewis Freestone, Alfie May and Conor Thomas for Cheltenham Town.

Sunderland AFC will next play Portsmouth FC away, with Cheltenham Town facing Rotherham United at home.

Technical card:
Sunderland AFC: Bailey Wright, Ross Stewart (Alex Pritchard, min.74), Tom Flanagan (Frederik Alves, min.56), Aiden McGeady (Leon Dajaku, min.61) and Luke O’Nien
Cheltenham Town: Lewis Freestone, Matthew Pollock (Alfie May, min.46), Taylor Perry (Dylan Barkers, min.70), Kyle Joseph (Christian Norton, min.70) and Conor Thomas
Stadium: Stadium of Light
Goals: Bailey Wright (1-0, min. 11), Ross Stewart (2-0, min. 28), Ross Stewart (3-0, min. 38), Luke O’Nien (4-0, min. 65) and Leon Dajaku (5-0, min. 66)