Plymouth Argyle 2 – Doncaster Rovers 1: Visitors unable to get win at Home Park

Photo Credit: AP

Plymouth Argyle defeat Doncaster Rovers 2-1 on Saturday at Home Park. Both teams arrived in good form, having secured victories in their previous matches. Plymouth Argyle were looking to continue their run after winning their previous two matches against AFC Wimbledon away and Sheffield Wednesday at home, by 1-0 and 3-0 respectively. Doncaster Rovers, on the other hand, were looking to extend their winning run after a 1-0 victory against Morecambe FC. Following today’s result, Plymouth Argyle and Doncaster Rovers sit 4th, (18 points) and 24th, (4 points), in the league respectively, after 9 matches.

After a goalless first half, Whatever was said in the dressing room at half time, seemed to have a positive effect on Doncaster Rovers who started the second half well, with a goal from Jordy Hiwula-Mayifuila, 54 minutes in. However, the good fortune didn’t last for long. An equalizer from Luke Jephcott, 68 minutes in brought Plymouth Argyle level. However they weren’t finished yet and Conor Grant made it 2-1 just before the final whistle with a final score of 2-1.

For Plymouth Argyle, Macauley Gillesphey, Jordan Garrick and Kieran Agard, came on for Brendan Galloway, Ryan Hardie and Luke Jephcott. Doncaster Rovers brought on Rodrigo Vilca and Aidan Barlow, to replace Tiago Cukur and Matthew Smith.

There were bookings for Brendan Galloway, Jordan Houghton, Jordan Garrick and Michael Cooper from Plymouth Argyle, and Matthew Smith, Tiago Cukur, Tommy Rowe, Ethan Gaibraith and Aidan Barlow, for Doncaster Rovers.

Plymouth Argyle will next play Crewe Alexandra at home, with Doncaster Rovers facing Ipswich Town away.

Technical card:
Plymouth Argyle: Brendan Galloway (Macauley Gillesphey, min.74), Jordan Houghton, Luke Jephcott (Kieran Agard, min.88), Ryan Hardie (Jordan Garrick, min.80), Conor Grant and Michael Cooper
Doncaster Rovers: Matthew Smith (Aidan Barlow, min.78), Jordy Hiwula-Mayifuila, Tiago Cukur (Rodrigo Vilca, min.72), Tommy Rowe and Ethan Gaibraith
Stadium: Home Park
Goals: Jordy Hiwula-Mayifuila (0-1, min. 54), Luke Jephcott (1-1, min. 68) and Conor Grant (2-1, min. 90)