Oxford United 3-1 Plymouth Argyle – Oxford United take all 3 points, after 3-1 victory against Plymouth Argyle

Visitors leave with nothing as Oxford United secure a convincing 3-1 win
Lindzy Batt

Lindzy Batt

If there is anyone with the perfect insight and observation skills, that’s Lindzy! Her eagle eye never misses anything. That goal the referees needed to use VAR to determine it really was a goal?

Oxford United enjoyed a mesmerising home victory against Plymouth Argyle at Kassam Stadium on Saturday. With each team arriving on the back of a league defeat, they were both keen to pick up points. Oxford United were looking to improve their position in the table, following a previous defeat to AFC Wimbledon. Plymouth Argyle were beaten 6-0 in the previous match against Charlton Athletic. After today’s result, Oxford United are in 5th place, with 68 points from 44 matches, while Plymouth Argyle sit in 18th, with 53 points from 44.

Oxford United found the net first, with Joe Edwards giving Oxford United the lead in the 29th minute, ending the first half 1-0.

Plymouth Argyle took the initiative in the second half, thanks to Niall Ennis finding the net, 65 minutes in. However, each side looked hungry to win and Oxford United then found the back of the net, on 69 minutes thanks to Matty Taylor, taking the score to 2-1. Oxford United then scored once more and increased their advantage thanks to a second effort from Matty Taylor at the 80 minute mark with a final score of 3-1.

For Oxford United,, , Alex Gorrin and Anthony Forde, came on for, , Elliott Lee and Daniel Agyei. Plymouth Argyle replaced, Ryan Hardie,, Klaidi Lolos,, Kelland Watts and Ben Reeves with, Luke Jephcott,, Byron Moore,, Sam Woods and Tyrese Fornah.

The referee booked one player from Plymouth Argyle, Joe Edwards.

Oxford United will next play Shrewsbury Town away, with Plymouth Argyle facing Sunderland AFC at home.

Technical card:
Oxford United: Matty Taylor, Elliott Lee (Alex Gorrin, min.75) and Daniel Agyei (Anthony Forde, min.75)
Plymouth Argyle: Joe Edwards, Niall Ennis, Luke Jephcott (Ryan Hardie, min.78), Byron Moore (Klaidi Lolos, min.82), Sam Woods (Kelland Watts, min.90) and Tyrese Fornah (Ben Reeves, min.90)
Stadium: Kassam Stadium
Goals: Joe Edwards (1-0, min. 29), Niall Ennis (1-1, min. 65), Matty Taylor (2-1, min. 69) and Matty Taylor (3-1, min. 80)

More From 888post